We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value spoilt by Wifi policy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Wellington to your Saves list
Ibis Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good value spoilt by Wifi policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms comfortable and reasonable size.
Breakfast iffy, fine if you like lukewarm food.
But the wifi policy!! No free wifi in room, and in lobby only 30 minutes a day which has to be used in one lump:(

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and highlighting your thoughts on our current WiFi offering. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    663
    286
    62
    25
See reviews for
256
524
160
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I came up for the Speedway NZ awards and It was pleasing to see that when I checked in to your hotel the very pleasant welcome I received from the receptionist also the very helpful night manager..My room was made up extremley well and credit to the person who took great care to make sure the room was very welcoming ..Id definitely stay with Ibis Wellington again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much ! We appreciate your review and we're pleased you had an enjoyable experience with our team at ibis Wellington. See you again next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

You can't expect to much for $100 a night in the centre of a nations capital, the location was excellent, the staff friendly and you can accept the average beds, noisy air con and the tissue box that fell on the floor whenever you looked at it. The shower however had three settings, scalding/just-right/freezing within half a mm of each other and stream so pathetic that at least 3/4 of your body would be shivering at any one time. My 85 year old dad has better pressure. OK for a night or two and no doubt we'll be back if they are offering the same deals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Regardless of the rate you pay, we don't believe you should have to deal with a noisy air-con, an uncomfortable bed, an unreasonable shower or a wayward tissue box; so please know that we are sorry for those aspects of your stay with us. We expect to get those things right; and we appreciate we are fortunate that you will consider returning. Thank you for highlighting your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First time staying at the Ibis Wellington and very pleased with the experience. Got in quite late at night and were greeted with a smile and in our room within 5 minutes. Rooms were a good size, clean and tidy. Location wise, very close to Lambton Quay and Kirks so it's easy to get food and go shopping. Food in the lobby is also quite good. Bottom line would absolutely stay here again, the only thing that would make this better is free wifi in rooms!

TIP: book your green cab from the reception to get a $25 flat rate to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. It's always nice to read comments such as 'great staff' and to know that you were greeted with a smile. Thank you for sharing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights enjoyed the central location, close walking distance to Te Papa, Parliment and other points of interest. Parking was available at the hotel with plenty of choiced asround using public transport. The room wasn't large but had everything you need including the comfortable bed. Made use of the restaurant one evening enjoying the selection of food. Was disappointed with cheeseboard having a selection of cheeses with only two cracker's a bit stingy. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cheese board. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the selection of food on offer at Vivant Restaurant & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here two nights over Easter. A good economical place to stay in downtown Wellington and close to public transport. We checked in late one night. On entering the apartment, I noticed the room faced a concrete courtyard which made me feel claustrophobic. I stayed the night in the room, but thought I'd ask if I could change to a room with a more light airy street view the next night. Without hesitation, reception staff kindly obliged. The room we were given was fairly roomy, clean and much lighter overlooking Featherstone Street. We ate at the restaurant at the Ibis and thought it was good value for money. But having said that, there were umpteen other places to eat out even over Easter. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Blueridge Ferry terminal.

If you don't need to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, this is a good enough place to stay without paying through the nose. If you want something more upmarket, I suggest staying at the luxury hotels dotted around the city centre.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms facing concrete courtyard (even numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed a nice Easter break in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is located in the heart of the city offering, 200 guest rooms. Our stylish rooms with modern décor allow increased connectivity with the ability to connect media players and digital cameras via 26 inch flat screen LCD TVs. The rejuvenated rooms complement the stylish Vivant! Restaurant & Bar and lobby area. Limited parking is available at the hotel for an additional cost of $25 per night and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.