We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Wellington to your Saves list
Ibis Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great stay for a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Decent 3 star chain hotel which delivers what it should, no more, no less. Staff are friendly and helpful but having stayed here around 4-5 times now I never find them particularly warm.

The other day at breakfast the music was so thumping and loud I had to ask them to tone it down it was 0630 and they had some hellish tunes on which scrambled my brain. I suggested this was something for the evening not the early hours. The F&B man agreed and said he was trying to get this playlist changed to the evening - they did turn it down and apologised, so all good!

It's worth pointing out for those who are driving and checking in a bit later that free street parking is available from 18:00-08:00 on the streets outside and around the corner. Park outside, drop off your stuff then go and find a parking space. Overnight parking charges on offer are otherwise exorbitant from what I overheard at the counter as I was waiting to check out, just a few days ago

For those of you who are lighter sleepers as I am this location may suit you better than somewhere on Courtney Place which can be incredibly noisy!

The food offer is pretty good though I think prices are a little high for the experience on offer and lack of intimacy in the 'lounge/diner area' which is attached to reception

You can pay around the same and have a nicer environment if you're prepared to venture out

All the rooms that I have stayed in have been refurbished and are always nice and clean with everything working

If you can get this hotel for between $90-139 which I have recently it's worth it. Sometimes rates can be exorbitant when something is on in Wellington e.g. $250-300 then it would not be!

So, top tip if you're coming to Wellington for a gig/show book nice and early to get the best price

Aim for a higher floor away from any street noise

Room Tip: Aim for higher floors and away from lifts for the quietest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We appreciate your effort to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    667
    287
    62
    25
See reviews for
257
526
160
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I did not expect the location will be this good for such a price. I was wrong. I can actually walk to cable car, museum, top rated restaurant, nearby breakfast place, harbor and many more. the room was clean, the staff also very helpful. I will recommend this place to all people who are looking for a place to stay in Wellington

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and for recommending ibis Wellington ! We really appreciate the 5 out of 5 rating. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboutne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a clean room, comfortable clean bed, room has coffee/tea facilities, iron, mini fridge, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer. The hotel charges for wifi. Hotel is in city centre , close to waterfront, which really isn't much there at all, a couple of expensive restaurants.
Buffet breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights on a visit to Wellington. You can't ask for a better location - it's right in the middle of town and convenient for most attractions in the city. No hesitation in recommending and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for recommending ibis Wellington ! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and have shared your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Soul, I think its missing soul, the essential thing that makes a good hotel great. I mean this place is spotlessly clean, well appointed, has professional staff, a good restaurant, and is in a really good location....but there is something that makes it the same as every other franchise chain hotel in the world.
It has no lounge, gym or pool and guys, join the 21st century, who the hell charges exhorbitant wifi anymore? Its free in the street in half the city, why do I need to pay 38c a minute in my room?
Anyway, its a good value and convenient place to stay, I would quite happily stop there again and if you want basic quality, I reccomend you give the Ibis a try.
?

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts and comments on the feel of the hotel and the price charged for WiFi. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

A short notice booking & a great price, $100 for the night. We were very happy with our stay. We also ate in & I had the chefs special of lamb & it was divine. We love that it's so handy as it's right in down town Wellington. It's clean & tidy & the staff were friendly & helpful. Review wants 200 characters so blah blah blah blah, silly trip advisor I've already said all I want to say! Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It's great that you were able to book an attractive rate and were very happy with your stay with us at ibis Wellington ! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is located in the heart of the city offering, 200 guest rooms. Our stylish rooms with modern décor allow increased connectivity with the ability to connect media players and digital cameras via 26 inch flat screen LCD TVs. The rejuvenated rooms complement the stylish Vivant! Restaurant & Bar and lobby area. Limited parking is available at the hotel for an additional cost of $25 per night and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.