We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Wellington to your Saves list
Ibis Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
“Will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I called before booking as i have 7 month old twins and wanted to ensure the services suited. The female i spoke to was very helpful and when i asked about noise she advised i would be put on a higher level to ensure quiet (i was then put on level 5). I was extremely pleased with the room and services provided. I will be strongly recommending to anyone visiting Wellington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear thouminek,

Firstly, congratulations on your 7 month twins, you are amazing! I am pleased that my staff were able to make your stay incredibly smooth and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to my whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    708
    322
    69
    27
See reviews for
274
577
165
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location, and that is probably all I can say was good this stay. I was there last year at the same time and experienced air conditioning issues in the room - thought a year later it would be fixed. My room was 2 singles made into a king (don't lay in the middle of the bed), The room was sooo hot and uncomfortable even when putting the air con to 15C. They have pick up room service - so basically order and pick up in billy cans. ordered a meal w/ desert and the desert was on the top layer of the "billy cans', thus the ice cream was totally melted before I even got it to my room, never mind after the meal when it looked like a brownie is milk. Ordered a steak 1 night and there was so much grizzle in the middle I could not cut thru it? A 50$ meal served in billy cans that you get a paper plate with?? Staff were "OK" but the air con never got fixed and the meals were very disappointing. After 4 nights I was exhausted and would NOT recommend the Ibis unless it is for just 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Bring your own fan. Eat somewhere else. 1 or 2 nights max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear TinaR412,

I am very disappointed to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington particularly the fact that you have had issues with your air conditioning on two consecutive stays. I have passed on your comments to my Chief Engineer to investigate and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. ibis hotels do not offer room service and instead offer a takeaway option called Grab it and Go which is served in Tiffins. I am sorry that this service and the quality of the steak did not meet your expectations and we hope to have any opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Nz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

All the hotel employees were great.
Room was fine except for the hard bed.
Great location in central Wellington and far better value and more personal attention than the Intercontinental along the road.
Great coffee bar next door - turn left out the main door.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us although I am sorry the bed did not meet your expectations. I will pass on your comments to all of my staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good standard with regular visits to the Ibis. Prompt service on registration and departure.
Continental breakfasts are the norm for me and are generally adequate. However, I like the look of the full breakfast and shall sample this in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Heidsiek,

Thank you for choosing ibis Wellington again as your accommodation provider in Wellington. I am glad that we continue to meet your standards and look forward to serving you a piping hot breakfast on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed for a few nights on business, being a regular stayer at IBIS Hotels NZ wide I knew I could expect a perfectly positioned, basic but great hotel. The hotel is in a perfect position for all you need to do in Wellington with a short walk to the waterfront as well as shopping on Lambton Quay.

The staff and their friendliness are what made this stay great. Such genuine reception staff and i liked that the cleaning staff always smiled and said hello. I enjoyed a buffet breakfast each day which was lovely, and I love the lollies at reception....the little touches!

Will definitely stay again when I go to Wellington. Great price for a great room.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Shecrow,

We appreciate the loyalty to the hotel and we are glad that we have once again met your expectations. I will pass on your comments to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are two couples and very satisfied with the room,location and price. However the carpark is only 25 slots. Luckily we can use the carpark at the next morning.
Remember to ask or request carpark when booking thishotel.
Surely will stay again when visit Wellington. Thank you!
Tips: There is a good Malaysian Restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Linawaty,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Car parking is limited at the hotel and does need to be pre-booked however I am pleased that on this occassion we had availability for you. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed here many times and find the rooms are always very clean and tidy. It is very quiet on the upper floors which is nice if you have to sleep during the day.

All the staff are friendly and seem happy to help. Even the cleaners give you a friendly hello as you walk past.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at Ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear cybehusky,

Thank you for your loyalty to the hotel. I am pleased that we consistently meet your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is located in the heart of the city offering, 200 guest rooms. Our stylish rooms with modern décor allow increased connectivity with the ability to connect media players and digital cameras via 26 inch flat screen LCD TVs. The rejuvenated rooms complement the stylish Vivant! Restaurant & Bar and lobby area. Limited parking is available at the hotel for an additional cost of $25 per night and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.