We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and claustrophobic but great city location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citylife Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citylife Wellington to your Saves list
Citylife Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dark and claustrophobic but great city location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I think we got upgraded to a two bedroom apartment which had great kitchen and laundry facilities. However being on level one of seven floors facing the bottom of a cliff face, the room was very dark and a bit claustrophobic to be honest. It looked out on drains and stacks of wooden crates. Not a great look! Room was quiet though and staff friendly.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear YumYum-ontour,

Thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in certain aspects of your stay. However, I am pleased that you enjoyed the upgrade and the service from the staff.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    133
    42
    12
    2
See reviews for
111
74
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel address in our rental car, and found out that it was right on the main but narrow shopping street of Wellington, and parking on the street in front of the hotel was not permitted or possible, so we drove around and found a parking spot on a nearby side street.

The reception was located at the top level (level 6). Because the city is quite hilly, the entrance to the front of the building is at ground level, but entrance to the back of the building is from another street at level 6. The reception gave us an address to enter to our GPS so that we could drive around to the back of the building to park our car.

From outside the hotel looked rather dated, but it was quite well maintained inside. We were upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment which was spacious and comfortable, the main bedroom had its own TV and an on-suite. The apartment was at the back of the building on level 2, it did not have any traffic noise from the main shopping street, but it felt like in a basement or a pit - the outlook was rock face, there was some rubbish laying at the bottom of the pit, there was no natural light. If one has to stay here all day one would get depressed, however we were out until dark, with the curtains closed we were able to ignore the surrounds and enjoy the comfort inside.

The location is second to none with shopping at the door step, the cable car station 100 meters away, and most attractions within level walking distance.

We dealt with a number of staff members, invariably they were all very nice and helpful.

With all considered this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear JadeForr

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your feedback as it gives us an opportuniy to continually review our service and facilities.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the upgrade to one of our spacious suite. I apologise for the rubbish that was lying outside your window as we had some contractors working there until recently.

We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday to NZ.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is situated right in the middle of Wellington, its a bit hard to find if your driving so keep your eyes out for a white fluoro sign right in between a jewellery store and Sunglasses hut. Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The reception is on the 6th floor and has free Wi-Fi but then again so does the main shopping strip Lambton Quay, some restaurant's do charge back if you want to eat in. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear ASDKW,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at CityLife Wellington.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here one night in a studio apartment and was very impressed. The level of décor is high in this hotel and the room was very well laid out and spacious. We were in a room on the first floor facing the rear which means you look out onto a concrete retaining wall which has been planted. But then the plus to having no view was the room was very quiet.

We had free Wi-Fi, two TV's (one in the lounge and the 2nd in the bedroom), and a very spacious bathroom. About my only complaint (and it is a small complaint) is that the shower sprayhead is poor - its more like a very weak spray instead of water jets.

We had breakfast the next morning at the hotel. It was basic but just what we were after having had a large meal the previous night. This is where we encountered probably the nicest member of staff who looked after the food area. She was pleasant, informative, and nothing was too much trouble.

Overall, it was a very pleasant hotel stay. The hotel location also couldn't be better for the city attractions and waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Superpear,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at CityLife Wellington. It is our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team especially our breakfast attendant. I have also asked our Maintenance technician to check the shower head in the room your stayed in.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

WAs in Wellington for the first time on business and as I usually like the Citylife hotels I booked citylife in Wellington. I took my family with me and the booking was very nice and uncomplicated ober phone and email ( in contrast to the museum hotel, which was disastrous)
The good points: hotel in great location- right at Lambton Quay which is the main shopping mile. Close to mUseums, waterfront, cable car 2 minutes to walk.
Lovely staff, very accomodating and helpful
-bad points: pretty run down..nowhere like citylife Auckland. Beds hanging down the middle, the rollaway unusable. I ended up sleepin on the sofa which was more confoirtable than any of the beds.
We had booked a 2 bedroom director s suite and expecting mch more- from that name! dont call a dingy, dark sort of ahppy 2 bedroom aprtment a suite at all!
I ahd booked with 2 bathrooms ( as travelling with 3 teenage girls) however read on tripadvisor, that some dont have wondows or balconies so changed that over the phone to seomthing with balcony.
The balcony was really big and you had a glimpse of the ocean, but was not decorated at all.. only 2 small charis with the tinies of tables...
also the trade off was having only one bathroom, which nobody told me about.
All in all it has more the air of a second rate italian "pensione"... there was no restaurant or room service.. you could oder food from the restaurants in the neighboorhood.. breakfast was served in the lounge..
after my initial shock, having expeted somethin nice ( and at ov er 300 NZD/night by all measn not cheap) the hotel sort of grows on you as it has a homely back street feel with nice staff, which could just be a family pension.
Location is unbeatable, but I thiink next time I will try the INtercntinental which is almost opposite and has nice water views and was almost same price anyway

Room Tip: there is a 2 bedroom directors suite with balcony and only one bathroom... the othersuite I think ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear estellejulie

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it continuously gives us an opportunity to review our service and facilities.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your overall stay at CityLife Wellington although some aspects did not meet your expectations. We will strive to improve on the areas mentioned so that we are the hotel of your choice in Wellington.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in the middle of our 2 week holiday in New Zealand. From start to end this was a wonderful experience. Check in was a breeze. Our 1 bedroom suite had a large living room/dining room, fully equipped kitchenette, a bathroom with a a shower/bath combo and a separate washer and dryer rather the absorb combination washer/dryer we saw other places, and a bedroom with ample storage. The hotel is centrally located near shopping, dining, museums and the cable car. What really stood out for us was the service. On our last morning we had to catch a taxi to the ferry terminal before the breakfast room opened. As breakfast was included in our package, we felt it was a shame we would miss it and have to buy something on board. When we inquired at reception the night before they arranged to have a huge tray brought up the next morning so we could eat in our room before departing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear BearTraveler69

Thank you very much for sharing such a lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in NZ and your stay at CityLife Wellington. It is our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team.

We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday to NZ.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent three nights at the Citylife apartment in Wellington. There were 6 of us and it is really hard to find any accommodation in downtown Wellington that will house that many people. We had a three bed room suite. One of the rooms had an en suite and there was another separate bathroom/ laundry. Two of the rooms had double beds and the other had two singles.
The living area was large and we actually got a roll out bed for an extra guest.
It was tidy and spacious with a well appointed kitchen.
My only critisim was the stairs up to the top floor where the apartment was. They were uneven and quite tricky to walk down. Also the view was not up to much unless you like dumpsters and air conditioning units!
We were there for WOW and it was a very short walk to the ASB event centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bogatide,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your group enjoyed your stay at CityLife Wellington. I apologise for any inconvenience caused as our 7th floor is not accessible by guest lifts. However, the floor is accessible by a service lift which staff should have informed you upon check in. I will ensure to discuss this with my team so that such an occurence is not repeated.

We look forward to hosting your group for WOW 2014.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citylife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citylife Wellington

Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wellington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citylife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citylife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citylife Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.