We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citylife Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citylife Wellington to your Saves list
Citylife Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great spot downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Tidy spacious apartment with everything a mum and daughter could want except a corkscrew (which was delivered speedily to the room). Quiet and very central for shopping etc. new world close by on willis st. Very helpful staff. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear merlintrust,

Thanks for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I trust you enjoyed your trip to Wellington! I am pleased to know that you found our location very central and staff helpful.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    133
    42
    12
    2
See reviews for
111
74
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a family of four its always good to find a spacious apartment, reasonably priced and located close to everything. Even though our room was at the back with no views, it was still quiet, clean and we were able to check in early. The tidy and spacious apartments have everything you would need from a kitchen with microwave, oven and dishwasher to bathroom with washing machine and dryer. Nice and close to food outlets, we used New World a few times, and close to the tram to the Botanical Gardens, the waterfront and a short walk to Te Papa. The staff were very friendly and helpful and happy to hold our bags after checkout.
I would definately come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Vannessa21,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and providing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at CityLife Wellington.

I am pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the space and facilities of our two bedroom suites along with the friendly service provided by our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us on your next trip to Middle Earth.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Located in the center of the city.
Yest. extremely spacious apartment w/ fully equipped kitchen (oven, dishwasher, cook-top, microwave). Tastefully decorated, although a touch dated. Very spacious bathroom and shower.
Lounge w/ breakfast and evening beverages on top floor.

Room Tip: I had a room away from Lambton Quay road - very quiet :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Uhuru966,

Thanks for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the space and facilities of your room. I acknowledge your comment about rooms being a bit dated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came down for a concert at the town hall, only a 10 mintue walk to the venue and also the same distance to Cuba and Courtney Place, main shopping/dining streets.
Located right on Lambton Quay - resturants and bars close. all your fast food outlets very close McD;s etc and supermarket around the corner.
Very nice friendly staff. We had a two bedroom apartment nice and clean and spacious. Only downfall that the bedroom closest to the road was very noisy. Will definatly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear travellernz22,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know that you found our location great and staff friendly. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a directors two bedroom suite. Large rooms with excellent facilities. Had a room at rear, initially thought street frontage would have been better but really enjoyed the quieter rear location. Excellent central position right in city centre close to harbour and cable car station.

Limited in house movies a small disadvantage but more than made up for by hotel positives. Helpful staff and a handy gym.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear S S,

Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is very pleasing you know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful. We look forward to welcome you and your family back at CityLife Wellington in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, lovely clean facilities and spacious too. Our only problem was we were four ladies down to see WOW and the beds were two doubles! We asked to change but the hotel was full. roller beds were offered but at a cost. After a call to our travel agent they waved the cost, it appears their room formation has changed so do check when confirming booking. Another group of ladies we met at WOW were also in the same situation at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Purrpaws,

Thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to your over the bedding configuration required in your room. However, I am glad you still enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back on your next holiday to the coolest little capital in the world.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for a week whilst visiting family in the middle of a long trip, and wanted kitchen and laundry facilities. It was clean, spacious and in a great location. We didn't use all the facilities but the ones we did were good. The staff were helpful, although we did have problems with our key cards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at Citylife Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear GrantGLondon,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over your week long trip to Wellington. Also, I appreciate you providing us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused to you as your room key cards did not work properly at times.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citylife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citylife Wellington

Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wellington
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citylife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citylife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citylife Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.