We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double booked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital View Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capital View Motor Inn to your Saves list
Capital View Motor Inn
12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Double booked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed here half a dozen times and always found the rooms clean and tidy if not a little tired. Lovely night time views. Management are friendly and have always been happy to store luggage until check in/out. The location is really handy to Cuba Street and all the cafes and restaurants plus it only takes about 15 minutes to walk to Te Papa and the waterfront

This year we booked in February for the Wearable Arts in October. Sadly, in June we were told that we had been double booked and shifted to another hotel at a cost of an extra $60/night for their mistake. Unfortunately this has made me lose confidence in their booking system and, while I like the location, would look around at alternative accomodation because of this. Consequently, I ended up finding a completely different place to stay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    112
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
74
115
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had to visit the Malaysian Embassy in July and found this awesome spot in Wellington to stay for 3 days and 2 nights. It was walking distance to the Embassy, and minutes away from Cuba St Mall and other fabulous places in Wellington. Love the easy access to close-by food stalls, shopping centres, Te Papa etc. We spent most time walking but it was great to be buzzing in and amongst the city crowd after losing our central business district in the Christchurch Feb 2011 Earthquake.

The service was great, the we'll give it top marks for value for money, bedroom quality and cleanliness. When we left, they were in the process of refurbishing their guest rooms, so chances are you could request for one of the refurbished ones when you next stay here.

To top it up, Mark and Lorraine were extremely friendly hosts and took great care of us during our stay.

We'll miss our short but memorable Wellington trip and won't hesitate to return to this awesome place to stay the next time we head to Wellington. :)

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the city...you'll get a nice night view of the Wellington city. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The owners are very welcoming. Great location - having parking is fantastic. Being in town could mean noise but here this isn't a problem at all. The rooms are always clean. It's great to have cooking facilities as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

 Friendly manner, Personal service
 Immaculate units
 Breathtaking views
 Extremely good price
 Thoroughly recommend
 Definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Capital View is a fantastic place to stay if you're looking for an inner city motel at a great price. Hosts are friendly and welcoming and special praise needs to go to the lovely ladies who keep the rooms spotlessly clean. Have taken away some great memories of my two week stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Easy, friendly and comfortable. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great place to stay Close to everything.Great service clean tidy rooms Excellent value for money
free parking a great plus if staying in Wellington

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital View Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.