We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apollo Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Apollo Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Apollo Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in a ground level studio for two nights (April 21-22nd, 2014). Very basic but clean and lots of room. We had a. I I fridge to store our goodies. There was a nice long table to pile all our stuff on. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. I was worried about arriving before the office closed so I contacted the office. He was very friendly and helpful. We managed to arrive just before closing and there were no problems. The location was great. We walked to everything. There is even an on-site laundry facility.

CON: there is free parking but there are not many spaces and it is tight. We managed to squeeze into a spot but the next morning as people checked out, we moved it to a better parking space.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get there earlier in the day so you can get a parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
45
57
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Clean.
Central for Wellington and Mount Victoria.
Friendly staff.
Parking.
WIFI available but constantly runs out and you have to keep asking for new codes, forget SKYPE or FACETIME.
Secure.
Comfortable.

Room Tip: Ours was good and if it's not complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Apollo Lodge Apartment.
Nice place to stay at and will definitely go there again.
If you are planning to stay at the apartment and don't like walking the stairs, request the lower level possible as there is no lift. But the apartment itself is very nice. Has all the kitchen utilites required for cooking, freezer, stove and everything clean as new.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed a few nights in a ground floor unit which has been recently refurbished and decorated. Comfy bed, plenty of space, spotlessly clean. The property is just a short walk from Courtenay Place where buses go to all destinations and with plenty of cafes and restaurants close by, the location is really good. Lovely welcome from the friendly owners.

Room Tip: It's a generally quiet location. We were in unit 19 and slept really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

my new favorite place to stay in Wellington. Great value for your dollar. The two bedroom Victorian unit right across from the office was perfect for 5.Lots of character. Also like the studio units for 1 or 2.....off-street parking and just a short walk down the hill to tons of restaurants and bars......accommodating hosts and well cared for grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A great find, in a perfect location. Easy walking to the hub of Wellington. Free parking, and clean rooms. Can be a bit noisy at times, we stayed in the Edwardian room and could hear upstairs stomping around on the wooden boards. Comfy beds. Easy drive to the wharf to catch the inter islander ferry. I would highly recommend staying here. Free limited internet too.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booking was smooth and easy, welcome was friendly and helpful, accommodation clean and of a great standard and check out a breeze. With free car parking and within easy walking distance to town, getting around was a breeze. We wanted for nothing and of course will stay again

Room Tip: Staying in the villa was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.