We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Apollo Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Wellington Apollo Lodge is located quite convenient in the center of Wellington. While parking is free, it is possible to walk to most of the attractions of the capital. The rooms are large and comfortable. Beds are nice. The rooms are clean. The staff is nice.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    98
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
60
91
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was booked through a 3rd party and we were shown images in a brochure that made the rooms look quite good. However upon arriving we were shown to a room that resembled a dungeon. it was small and pokey with no natural light, television was old, bathroom was also old and outdated.
The owners were extremely unhelpful and very defensive in their attitude.
I would not recoomend this hotel to anybody else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hassle free parking in central Wellington, this is a huge plus. Access friendly, no driving around strange city getting lost or into the wrong lane, even my husband could drive to and from this place. Easy walk to central city, attractions and buses. Would recommend Apollo to anyone, quiet, clean, comfortable,very high standard of accommodation. That is all we want and we will always opt to stay here from now on.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the peace and quiet of refurbished off road rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in a motel room which we found to be clean, tidy and spacious. The location was fantastic - easy walking distance to the waterfront, Te Papa and Courtney Place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our young children for several nights in Autumn and enjoyed a comfortable clean unit that was conveniently close to Te Papa, the waterfront, restaurants etc.

Unfortunately, the manner of one of the staff (I think it was the owner) was absolutely awful. Barely civil on the phone when booking, unfriendly at the outset, suspicious, unhelpful in solving problems, and completely unapologetic and accusatory when an item of considerable personal value was lost from the room and never found. We spent nearly a thousand dollars on accommodation at this establishment and were overall treated like "trouble" or worse.

I do NOT recommend this motel for anything other than an overnight stay when location is critical.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Most central accomodation in Wellington is hotels, the Apollo is a good location being close to Courtney Place but with the benefits of a motel (off street parking, kitchen, more space). We stayed in a lovely refurbished one bedroom unit but have also stayed in the Edwardian house which was lovely too.

Room Tip: The Edwardian house rooms facing out onto Majoribanks road are not so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in the apartments across the road from this hotel - but it is all part of the same complex. From the outside they don't look like much but they are immaculately clean and have excellent facilities. Despite the fact that it is almost on Courtenay Place with all of its bars and restaurants, it was also very quiet. It's very handy to the supermarket and is fully equipped so if you want a night off eating out, there are plenty of options for cooking. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.