We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR CENTRAL SITUATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Apollo Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Wellington
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR CENTRAL SITUATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this motel over a recent weekend. It is excellent value for such a centrally located motel. Our room was spacious, very comfortable bed, good TV, kitchenette with fridge, microwave and hotplates. The bathroom was a very good size. All our facilities were spotlessly clean. Wifi in room (1st 50 mg free). There was plenty of parking over this weekend. Tea/coffee/bathroom consumables replenished on our second day. As we have family living nearby we will definitely use this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    66
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
42
56
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday evening with nowhere to stay and after driving around the cith where relieved that the Apollo had a vacancy. We had an apartment across the road from reception. The exterior and the stairwell etc is not that appealing but don't be put off by this. Once inside the apartment was spacious with. 2 bedrooms, great value for what we paid on the edge of a city centre. It also appeared to have been newly decorated. Every room was spotlessly clean and the kitchen has a full cooker and was well equipped to prepare meals. All the white goods looked new. The only thing that let it down slightly where t he old uncomfortable sofa and old TV. But these are minor points. The location is quiet and about a 10 minute walk from the Te Pau museum and other attractions. The guy on reception was also very helpful, he had actually just closed for the night when we arrived but opened up again to check us in. I would definately recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Private, well appointed, quiet but centrally located. There is excellent offstreet parking, well lit for night security. Very modern recently renovated three bedroom apartment in a 4 storey building.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Had a great stay, wonderful location to all that Wellington had to offer. Separate room upstairs for kids. Clean and tidy. Duty Managers were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Plateau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The motel is in a great location right in the city centre and it was great to just be able to park the car outside of the unit.
Units are a little cramped, but clean and reasonably well appointed. Bathroom was very large and modern.
A good choice for anybody staying in Wellington needing a car.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfredton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

very expensive motel in Wellington. Small rooms and old, no space to sit outside. Two adults and two children under 14 $190. Owners, not friendly do not recommend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThelittleBoss, Manager at Apollo Lodge Motel, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
I'm sorry this guest found the accommodation to be expensive, when the booking was made through an on-line reservation site they only booked for 2 people, when there where 4, (2 adults and 2 children). Had they put the correct amount of people staying they would have know the correct tariff. Would you go to the movies with 2 tickets and get 4 seats? Or book a flight for 2 and expect to get 4 seats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here, lovely room, right in the heart of wellington. Friendly reception and proper milk too - always a bonus. We would have liked a bin in the bathroom and another mirror somewhere in the room but we would still highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.