We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in winter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Botanic Garden

Wellington Botanic Garden
101 Glenmore St, Wellington 6012, New Zealand
04-499-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Wellington Botanic Garden like an insider
Top Rated
$35*
and up
Wellington Hop-on Hop-Off Bus Tour
Ranked #5 of 189 things to do in Wellington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Marietta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Even in winter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Take the cable car to the top and then walk back down through the Botanic Garden. You'll be glad you took the time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    530
    83
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

even in winter there is somethign about this place that makes you smile, make this part of a workout or just a nice place to stop by and 'smell the roses'. Easy entrances and exits with a map so you don't get lost

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful gardens, lovely walking areas and delightful cafe in the gardens with great service and food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
239 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing place. It must be a challenge to maintain . The end result is worth it. For anyone coming to Wellington you should visit this place

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, even in the winter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My visit to Wellington was during the winter months. Weather can be chilly and rainy, but I lucked and had a beautiful, sunny Saturday to explore, although a little chilly. I took the cable car up and took the main path down into the city. The main path is marked with pink flowers all along the way. It takes you by some major highlights of the garden, but there is much more to explore. Other paths and walkways diverge of this main path. I took a few short steps off for pictures and exploring, but primarily stuck to the path. The signs say its a 40 minute walk down. I took my time and took longer, taking pictures and enjoying the scenery. In the winter a lot of the flowering plans are obviously not in full bloom, but I saw a few hydrangeas and roses in their respective areas. I can only imagine the amazing beauty of these areas in full bloom. The succulent garden however is great year round. Lots of different kinds of trees and plants to see. It was a beautiful walk. I was alone with saw many couples and families and a playground area. There is also a duck pond and a cafe next to the rose garden. Great walk on a beautiful day in Wellington.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Botanic Garden also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wellington Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.