We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, big and friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Wellington New Zealand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Wellington New Zealand to your Saves list
YHA Wellington New Zealand
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   292 Wakefield St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Clean, big and friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As any other YHA hostel, this hostel has big kitchen and big dining room; and actually there are 2 of them next to each other. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly staff to help with loads of information and centrally located. It could be difficult to get wifi signals in the room as you climb up but there is a wifi lounge on top floor. I stayed here for 2 nights and I enjoyed my stay. They have lockers downstairs so if you check out and want to hang out in the city after check out, can use the locker to store stuff, even big ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    156
    57
    10
    6
See reviews for
27
103
119
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here feb 2013 very clean, 2big kitchens with all the facilities you need. Free wifi. Great location. Beds were comfy. Lockers you had to pay for, supermarket just over the road. Beach is 5mins walk. Bathrooms male and female had 2shower and 2toilets little small but didnt bother us always clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a private double room using shared bathroom. The lovely blonde lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean and the bathroom was also extremely clean and handy to the room. Location is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hostel is above-average. The location is really great, the staff are very helpful, and the rooms are nice (and bigger than most hostels). If you're looking for a good nights sleep at a fair price, this is the place to be. Bathrooms and dorm rooms are clean and cozy. I can't think of anything negative about this hostel. YHA's in general are quite reliable, and this is the best YHA I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotstel very close to everything (Te Papa, Courtenay Place and Cuba St). I walked all the way to Lambton Quay for the cable car and even to the Parliament Beehive from the hostel. The walk on the waterfront was nice. Even to Oriental Bay.
As for the room, I stayed in a private double bedroom with shared bathroom. The room I was in might be a bit small for a couple though but the bed was very comfy. I was on the 3rd floor and had quite a hard time sleeping because of the noise coming from the lounge on ground floor. The shared bathroom was pretty clean for a Hostel. Note that YHA wlg has at least 300 beds so expect to see lots of people everytime, especially during rush hours for the toilet/shower;

The few staff I met was very friendly. Lots of information about Wellington available there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hostel is clean and the location is great...close to Te Papa museum and not far from Cuba St. However, it was a nightmare to park my car, partly because the staff gave very unclear directions. If you have a car, they will suggest you do "coupon parking" and will tell you that you need a coupon for parking 10am-4pm. All of the coupon parking signs say 8am-6pm but because you get 2 hours free, it becomes 10am-4pm. The coupon is reasonable-$7.50/day but the nearest parking if you get there late in the day could be 15 to 20 minute walk. You will also be told you have to put the coupon on your dashboard after 8 am or your car will get an expensive ticket, which means daily trips to the car. I had hoped to do laundry while at this hostel but the distance to the car was just too far to haul my dirty and then clean clothes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location of this high-rise hostel couldn't be better. It's across the street from a fantastic New World supermarket and one block away from the Te Papa Museum. The rooms and bathrooms are adequate--nothing fancy--and the rooms look out into an inner courtyard which is an unimpressive view. Where this place shines is in the service and amenities. There's a cafe on the ground floor, a 24-hour desk with a concierge who will arrange tours and shuttle service for you at a discount, free towels, a coffeemaker in the room, lockers, and a nicely equipped, if not terribly spacious, kitchen. There are brochures and posters everywhere with suggestions for free and economical entertainment, the best clubs, bargain nights at restaurants, etc. And somewhere (I didn't have time to look for it) there was a movie room where they showed New Zealand films! This was my first experience with YHA (though I'm actually a senior), but I'd definitely rely on them again.

Room Tip: There's no view to be had really, so it doesn't really matter what room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Wellington New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington New Zealand

Address: 292 Wakefield St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington New Zealand 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Wellington New Zealand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Wellington New Zealand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.