We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location budget accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Wellington New Zealand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Wellington New Zealand to your Saves list
YHA Wellington New Zealand
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   292 Wakefield St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location budget accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The accommodation is what you would expect from a YHA hostel although we were pleasantly surprised to have tea and coffee making facilities in our room and towels which you don't get in all the hostels. The kitchen is well equipped but not that big for a large hostel. Very good location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    135
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
91
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was a good experience for every aspect. Dorm room OK, kitchen facilities OK considering the crowd always around there, Wifi OK, common bathrooms OK. People at reception are very helpful and kind. Just 5 min. walk from the Te Papa Museum and the Waterfront, and the supermarket is just across the road. Many bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My second stay in the return leg from touring the South Island. It's close proximity to both the centre (and Te Papa Museum) as well as good cheap supermarket opposite rates this a good budget friendly option. No fuss or frills it can be busy note! But give it a try. I tried own room on way our but VERY cheap dorm on way back. TIP:ALLOW A FEW NIGHTS TO REALLY SEE WELLINGTON! Walls were thin on single room and more expensive so opted for dorm room. Joined the YHA International as a result of staying with YHA New Zealand and have been thoroughly pleased with standards PLUS FREE WIFI thrown in. Give it a try.. You don't be disappointed.. But you will make good friends and have a laugh as well !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place is in a very good location right across the road from a supermarket and a minutes walk from Courtney place which is a lively street in Wellington. Also a good place if you intend on going out to the bars at night as it is literally 30 seconds away. Hostel it self was okay. Staff were friendly, reasonable sized living area, rooms were okay but were very hot at night with no air conditioner. Also although it is close to all the bars we still slept fine and didn't hear any noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is my first time staying in backpackers. Heard a lot of horrible story about backpackers before, but this YHA really change my point of view. I was with my 2 children (1boy&1girl). They arranged a 4 people female dome with a private toilet for us. They blocked off the last bed and charge me really cheap for it. So, 3 of us would have a entire room all by ourselves. We love this arrangement.

Room is clean, spacious and the bunk bed is very comfortable. Friendly staff. They have a big share kitchen, which really well equipped. (even better than my own kitchen). New World supermarket is right opposite, so make it really handy. Overall, the kitchen is very clean and guests are really responsible with their own cleaning up after cooking.

We initially thought it must be noisy as our room is facing a busy road, and we stayed on Level 4. Surprisingly, it was not too bad even with the windows opened. We had good rest throughout our stay.

Location of this YHA is a winner. Bus stop is everywhere and Te Papa is just 5 mins walk away. On Sunday morning, there is a Sunday Market at Te Papa's carpark. A fishing boat parked at the waterfront. We bought some very fresh seafood right from the boat, (cheap too.) Then, we walked back to YHA and stored it in the fridge. We had a nice seafood dinner on that day. It's good fun. (see pics).

Love this YHA, we will definately stay there if we are going Wellington again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Wellington during the hobbit premiere in November. We originally wanted to book for 4 nights but were told that because of the premiere they were reserving rooms for groups that wanted to book a tour also. Slightly annoying but we booked for the first 2 nights of our stay.

The location is fantastic, right beside Courtney place and a short walk to Te Papa museum. On arrival, we were greeted by staff who were very nice. When we went into our room, there was an overpowering smell of vomit. We explained this to staff who told us that there were no other rooms available. We decided to leave the windows open and go explore and hoped that it would be ok when we returned. On return it was just as bad and again we spoke to staff who didn't seem to know what to do. They sent someone up to clean the room but it didn't make a difference so they gave us a plug in air freshener and advised us to speak to a manager the following day. So we had to spent the night in vomit room!

In the morning we asked to speak to a manager. There seemed to be a problem with this and no manager came to speak to us. However, the staff member was very helpful and told us that they would change our room, and a twin room was available. I explained that we had paid for a double room so she managed to find a free double room! She offered us no apology until I said that I didn't feel that we should pay for the previous night as it was terrible. Once I expressed this she offered to refund the price of the room and offered us one free internet card.

Even though this was our experience, I would recommend this hostel. The rooms are quite small but adequate. The facilities are great and it is one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in. Shared bathrooms were also very clean. There was laundry, coffee shop and a large kitchen and sitting area. There is also lots of information on things to do in Wellington, free activities and things to do when it's raining. Only criticism was that there was no free wifi and it is slightly overpriced for the room you get. Overall, a good option for Wellington.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A really well-located hostel close to Courtenay Pl, where there are plenty of pubs and bars, and the Te Papa museum, which is well-worth a visit. Our twin room was OK but reminded us slightly of a prison cell (not that we have ever been incarcerated). The shared bathroom facilities and kitchens were fine. The service was a bit strange - on arrival we stood at the front desk for a couple of minutes before being acknowledged and served. And then in the morning at the on-site cafe we were again ignored for a while, at which point we just left and went to Starbucks! This seemed quite odd and completely different to the high service levels we experienced at YHAs in Australia. But as a base for exploring Wellington, this is a good-value choice in a top location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Wellington New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington New Zealand

Address: 292 Wakefield St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington New Zealand 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YHA Wellington New Zealand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Wellington New Zealand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.