We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brief stay here but i was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Wellington New Zealand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Wellington New Zealand to your Saves list
YHA Wellington New Zealand
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   292 Wakefield St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“brief stay here but i was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

only stayed here overnight on my way to south island it was clean and very comfortable, in fact i think the bed was the best i slept in on my 6 weeks travelling around!! the staff were very helpful and the hostel is centrally located

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    136
    49
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
92
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed in a mixed dorm with 2 kids (5,7). The room was clean and included an ensuite. The staff were helpful and gave good tips on where to go and what to do. The Kitchens were very well stocked with all kinds of utensils and there was plenty of room for our groceries in the shelves and in the fridges. I can't really find fault with the YHA Wellington - it is a superb backpackers and while we were there it was booked out, a great sign of popularity. There was all that we needed and more. The best thing about this property is the location. It was a short walk to town, Te Papa, the waterfront, cafes, resturants and the bus-stops. All-in-all a highly recommended hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Pros
- Suberb location with a supermarket just across the street. Great when you're craving for a late night snack!
- Staffs were friendly and helpful
- Rooms were quiet and clean. I stayed in three different hostels in Wellington and only had a good night sleep with YHA
- Spacious dining and kitchen area
- Offers dinner meals to guest (the menu changes everyday!)

Cons
- Internet charges were expensive ($1 for 15 mins) but atypical of YHA standard I guess
- Maximum stay of 10 nights only. This was a problem because I was using YHA as a base while I looked for an apartment and I liked my visit so much but couldn't extend. I had to break up my stays there by sleeping at other hostels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Nice, modern, high capacity hostel. Great location. In the midst of the waterfront area. Great spacious kitchens. Rooms sterile but quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. The shared bathrooms were spotless and even had a hairdryer. The shared kitchens were really well equipped and the staff were incredibly helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I have no doubt that among hostels this is certainly one of the better ones. But it just felt so clinical and modern and impersonal that it left us quite cold. The place is like a rectangle conveyor belt for backpackers and has no character whatsoever.

The shared facilities were ok, two kitchens were large and had a lot of hobs with lots of equipment - though still majorly busy all the time. There are 2 common area, plus a TV room and reading room. Our shared bathroom was kept clean and the hair-dryer was bonus.

Our twin room was pretty titchy, especially for the price, and really felt a university dorm room. Wireless was expensive, but same as at all YHA's. Staff were not rude, but not overly friendly - doing the bare minimum I would say.

Location is pretty good, opposite a supermarket and 5 mins from Te Papa, 5 mins to bus stop. Train station is about half an hour walk.

We found it noisy at night. No aircon means the windows needs to be kept open and there was a lot of noise from nearby rooms and the common area.

It's nothing special, but nothing horrendous either.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Huge hostel but not unfriendly. Great kitchen/communal facilities/helpdesk. No disturbance/noise in the night. I was in a 4 bed share with ensuite which was great, huge window with views out over to the sea. Opposite a big New World supermarket. No parking outside but they direct you to parking (free at weekends). Cleaning staff efficient.
Walking distance to EVERYWHERE in Wellington centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Wellington New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington New Zealand

Address: 292 Wakefield St | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington New Zealand 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YHA Wellington New Zealand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Wellington New Zealand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.