We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accom in Wellington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Court Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Victoria Court Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   201 Victoria St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable accom in Wellington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Quite a good place to stay, very central, restaurants close by, not too costly - by Wellington standards, clean, tidy, get a one bedroom..plenty of space and quiet. Hosts not that friendly though....................................................

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    60
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
53
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very good accommodation with everything we needed. Great value for money although basic and free parking. Ideally placed for easy access to the eating places in Wellington particularly Cuba Street with its vibrant atmosphere.We really enjoyed being there and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Car parking in Wellington is difficult and expensive. This motel has private parking in the middle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I am touring New Zealand. My relatives booked the Victoria Court motor lodge. On arrival we had to pay an extra $60 on top of the original price because we used two separate bedrooms although it was in the same room. I cannot understand why that was since I did not book it, but the most shocking thing I heard was that we had to pay $12.50 each per night to use their Wi-Fi. Obviously they were not happy to charge $12.50 per night for the room but $12.50 EACH PERSON occupying the room. If that is not greed I do know what is.
In this age of communication it would not cost businesses much like hotels to attract customers by offering free Wi-Fi.
On principle I would never use this place again and I feel others reading this revue should not either. The price of Wi-Fi here could cost more than the price of the room depending how many people are staying there.
I will not attempt to revue the rest as I am totally against it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A friend and I stayed in a double room last week for one night. I can't fault anything the accommodation was spacious, clean and tidy and well equipped. The location is very central to anywhere you want to go within the busy Wellington CBD. Free parking is an absolute premium draw as well when you can pay at least $4 per hour to park in Wellington. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable place to stay with very large living room/bedroom. Excellent bathroom and kitchen area. So handy for visiting all parts of Wellington with no need to use car. Restaurant area just down the road - could not be closer for huge selection of different eateries. Hosts very helpful and knowledgeable. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here. We had a good welcome and the room was large with a kitchen area and a separate bedroom. It was very clean with all the kitchen utensils you could want. It is very handy for the city centre, attractions and local restaurants. The only downside was that after half an hour free WiFi, you had to pay $5 per hour, not a great idea since most hotels now give this for free. Nevertheless I would still recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be fine but book in plenty of time as this hotel fills quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here twice, once in Dec on the way to the South Island, and then again in January 2014 on the way back. The managers were extremely helpful & friendly with some great tips of where to go for dinner & taking in the sights on our two overnight stays. Cuba St is literally the next street over and the wonderful Wellington waterfront a short walk away. Very clean & tidy, would definitely stay here again

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court Motor Lodge

Address: 201 Victoria St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are superior accommodation offering studios, one bedroom apartments, two bedroom apartments (sleep up to six), executive studios and executive suites. All rooms have there own bathrooms (most with spas) and cooking facilities. We have free off street parking and laundry. Being centrally located (50 metres from Cuba Mall), there is no reason to drive. Surrounded by some of the best restaurants Wellington has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Court Motor Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.