We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Court Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Victoria Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Court Motor Lodge
201 Victoria St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I, son and daughter in law and 2 year old grandson stayed in a large 2 bedroom unit. Plenty of room and not tripping over one another. Great kitchen area as it was easier cooking in than going out with a young one. Very central to heart of city plus easy access to motorway. Good having off street parking, would certainly stay here again.
The unit was clean and tidy and hosts, Rese and Chris plus staff were always pleasant and helpfull to deal with. Our grandson loved "Bruce"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
44
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our ground floor 1 bedroom studio unit had the usual facilities of a NZ motel (sink, mini fridge microwave, crockery and cutlery, adequate equipment to prepare a simple meal, table and chairs, 1 armchair, TV) with the addition of hot plates and a spa. Decor was modern and tasteful. Everything immaculately clean - fresh and no musty smells.

There wasn't an outside sitting area or view but the location of this motel, one street from Cuba Street and within walking distance of the CBD, together with off street parking made this motel a very good choice for Wellington accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband stayed at this motel for the first time in Wellington because it has off street parking (hard to find in the heart of the city).We found this motel very clean and tidy and very very handy to the heart of Wellington.We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
This motel was quite quiet for the location right in the city.
We will be back and have NO problems telling anyone else that is going to Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is nice and tidy, clean. Staff are friendly enough. A little bit of noise in the morning from a dump truck emptying bins, but still a very good central location, with a lot of eateries in walking distance. Secure parking for your car. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great off street parking, handy secure walk through to Cuba Street, no need for car. However noisy in morning as in City so is a compromise for excellent location. Easy to find and access. Staff friendly and helpful. Suitable for family holiday as could walk to attractions and restaurants. Local food stores also very close.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my Mum (aged 71 years young!) Great location. Five mins walk to Cuba Street. In case nobody informs you, there is a short cut through the back of Victoria Court in to town. En route, note 'KK Malaysian' Restaurant. Inexpensive meals, very nice. Recommend the Nasi Goreng! Opens at 5pm and fills up very quickly! We ate here each night.

We had a large apartment with a separate bedroom containing twin beds. Queen bed in the lounge area. Kitchenette had everything one might require. Daily paper available down at Reception for free. Things to do, Cable Car and Botanical Gardens, Te Papa Museum, walk along the waterfront to Oriental Bay. St Paul's church was worth the visit and the $5.00 tour was excellent.

We did not have a car and it was fine. The Central Business District is flat and easy to walk around. My Mother coped easily. We walked to the train station about 20 mins away and went to Porirua for the morning. There was a shopping centre there and not much else!

Not far from the Te Papa Museum (which is fabulous), is the Reading Cinemas. We took in two movies. Two full days in Wellington was sufficient for us. Very relaxing. We didn't think there was too much to do there but enjoyed what we did.

The Airport was only about 20mins from Victoria Court. We used the 0800 SHUTTLE and it cost $46.00 return for the both of us. It was very efficient and I'd recommend using them. There were buses you could hop on at the airport but with our luggage and a 'Senior' Mother, the Shuttle was an even easier option. Door to door service.

Note that the International Airport and Domestic Airport are all in the same building and it isn't very big! Easy to find your way around.

Room Tip: there was a lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Centraly located, everything in walking distance. Lively Cuba street at the back entrance. No breakfast included anyhow better in one of the cafes around. Room and bathroom simple but big enough, clean and with kitchenett. Carpark infront of units. For a motel and for the location a good choice but because of that relatively expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court Motor Lodge

Address: 201 Victoria St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are superior accommodation offering studios, one bedroom apartments, two bedroom apartments (sleep up to six), executive studios and executive suites. All rooms have there own bathrooms (most with spas) and cooking facilities. We have free off street parking and laundry. Being centrally located (50 metres from Cuba Mall), there is no reason to drive. Surrounded by some of the best restaurants Wellington has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Court Motor Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.