We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the entertainment and arts areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“In the middle of the entertainment and arts areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A very convenient place to stay if you need to be near all the City's entertainment, from the waterfront, Michael Fowler Centre, Te Papa and and the Art Gallery. A clean and friendly place to stay. Room was just fine for a short stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ThomasAuckland,
Thank you for a positive review. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    343
    106
    29
    28
See reviews for
54
319
35
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The rooms are great and the location is fantastic! The prices were expensive but this was during the sevens, so that is to be expected! The staff were ok and lost one of our bags at one point, but was quickly sorted out. The food from room service was good! Not a bad place to stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Rachael D,
I do appreciate you taking the time to write a review; it was good to read that you enjoyed your room, our room service facility and the superb location we enjoy here at the Amora. I hope you will consider staying with us again if you get the opportunity to visit Wellington in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance to most of wellington cities highlights. Rooms of a nice size. A little disappointed about the gym facilities and lack of pool but then again who wants to sit in the hotel and not wander this lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Cathy_OConnor,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here in Wellington, and hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again soon. Many thanks for providing a review.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our visit here was wonderful, the hotel was luxurious, and we even got upgraded to a larger room which was a pleasant surprise! The staff were great, the room was amazing, the dinner was delicious (a little pricey but was worth it).
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Melissa G,
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay, highlighting the service of our staff and your dining experience. It is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I took our first weekend off in many years and spent it in Wellington at the Amora. We were greatly impressed when met at the door by Bipin, who carried our bags in and started the check-in process for us. The front staff, though young, were kind and attentive and very polite.
We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed good service and fine fare. Our weekend was just right and we were impressed by the professionalism of all the staff. Not once did we note staff idly chatting among themselves and ignoring the customers. They were very focused on customer satisfaction and gave the time and space needed for decision making.

Well done, we will be back.

Room Tip: As all rooms are sea facing you will be treated to fine views no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Aaron U,
It was fantastic to read your comments in relation to the service of our staff, and your dining experience in our Grill Restaurant, and I will pass on your feedback to our team who I am sure will be encouraged by your review. I do hope you both get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I travel quite a bit with work and the Amora is a very good centrally placed hotel. Probably good for tourists as well as its close to museum etc. breakfast very good. Didn't check out gym etc but my colleague did and said they where fine. Stay quite often in Wellington and Amora is probably my favorite mid priced range hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mickmiller583,
I was delighted to read your review and look forward to providing you with your hospitality requirements on many more occasions in the future! Thanks for your fantastic feedback, we hope to see you back at the Amora soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here recently for a conference. All of the staff were attentive and helpful. Food in restaurant was good. Stayed in a Club room (with lounge access) and enjoyed the 'peaceful' breakfast each day and the ability to escape in the afternoon and enjoy the view with drinks and canapés. Large bathroom. Amenities ok. Gym quite small. Great views.

Room Tip: The Club Floor is worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jenallan18,
I very much appreciate your feedback, and was pleased to read that you made good use of our Club Lounge facility as a place to escape to and relax. Thank you for taking the time to provide a very encouraging review.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.