We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay at the Amora!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Masterton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 night stay at the Amora!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We took a long weekend away from the Wairarapa and returned to the Amora; we had forgotten what a superb experience it is! Room service on hight 1, dinner in house night 2 and breakfast both days in house, can't be faulted. First class experience, booked another 2 night stay late July!

Room Tip: Each room has an aspect in our experience so not too much risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tim B,
It is always such a pleasure to read the feedback of guests who have had such a positive experience during their stay, and I do appreciate you taking the time to write this fantastic review. I look forward to welcoming you back in July!
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    297
    92
    26
    27
See reviews for
42
268
32
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We enjoyed a nights stay at the Amora hotel last weekend. The room had been refurbished since our last stay and were much improved however the bathroom had only had minor upgrade and the shower was not the best. We also had a problem with one of the windows not closing properly and as it was a windy wellington night we were kept awake most of the night by a very loud and constant whistling sound. But would stay again ( after checking the windows) as we loved the very central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear JacquieP,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay. In order for us to rectify the issues with the shower and the window it would be much appreciated if you could contact me on 04 473 3900 to advise us of the room number in which you were staying. It was good to read that you enjoyed the decor of your room and our fabulous location, and I hope you will come and visit us again in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Valet staff were fantastic that was the highlight.

We had a room on level 1 would have liked a higher floor with a view given the price we paid.
The room was spacious and comfortable modern fittings everything worked.

The bathroom was dated, a full size bath and shower with an after thought toilet. The toilet area was narrow with shoulders almost able to touch the wall and the wall put up between the bath and toilet. Would not be suitable for a larger person or man to comfortably use the toilet facilities.

Internet cost $26 for $24 and connection was problematic, was also charged twice for it when only purchased once. Thankfully the checkout staff fixed immediately, much better than the check in staff who ignored us and continued to discuss their social lives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear MELC9791,
I have taken note of your comments and appreciate your feedback; especially in relation to your experience on checking in to the hotel, which I will address further with my team. Thank you for providing a review of your stay and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a Girls weekend - my 'holiday-at-home' as I live in Wellington.

The location is great, really central to The waterfront, Te papa, Courtenay Place and Cuba street. Easy to walk everywhere from here. Rooms were neat and tidy, quite a modern/simple style, but had everything you would need for a short stay - tea/coffee/wineglasses etc. Good sized bathroom with good lighting and mirrors.
Air-Con worked well as room seemed to get quite hot and stuffy during the day.

Quick and easy walk to many good coffee/food places so we did not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear BurntK,
It was nice to read a review from a Wellingtonian; the 'holiday at home' sounds like a lovely idea! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient central city location, the decor of your room and the comfort of our in-room air conditioning. I do hope you get the chance to visit us again soon, and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback of your stay.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked a club room for May 31, 2013 as a surprise evening for my husband and to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. I booked a club room using our entertainment book. The booking as very easy. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to room 722, a suite. It was gorgeous and really, really spacious. Large bedroom with kingsize bed, a lovely big lounge with a leather sofa, dining area, chaise lounge, tea and coffe making facilities and underbench fridge. The suite had 2 flat screen televisions (one in the lounge and the other in the bedroom), large bathroom with a shower, toilet and spa bath. There was also another toilet and hand basin. Straight ahead down the hall was the lounge and if you turned right a small hallway lead to the bedroom. The whole suite was very well decorated and housekeeping did a wonderful job as all areas were exceptionally clean and tidy. The views out over the harbour were very nice too. We did not hear the traffic below which was a bonus given that we were very close to all the restaurants and bars of the inner city. We used the club lounge for complimentary drinks and canapes. We ate at the Grill restaurant and the meal was excellent. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. We used the valet parking which was very efficient. This was a fantastic hotel and we enjoyed our night there before flying to Christchurch to continue our long weekend celebration. Thank you all for helping make this a great stay, and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear NZ_NURSE,
Thanks for a fantastic review! It was encouraging to read your comments in relation to our housekeeping and reception service, and your experience in our Grill Restaurant and Club Lounge. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your anniversary weekend and you get the opportunity to visit us here at the Amora Hotel Wellington again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On a recent business trip to New Zealand, the Amora Hotel Wellington was chosen on my behalf by the office travel coordinator. For future trips to Wellington, I will be requesting alternative accommodation.

After an international flight and/or a tiring business day, one hopes to end the day at a nice hotel where your basic needs are met and hopefully you might even feel a little pampered. Sadly, the Amora did not deliver. I arrived mid afternoon on an international flight and needed lunch because my body clock was on a different time zone. The Amora restaurant was closed. The only alternative was to order room service in my dark and dingy room or choose from a very limited menu and eat in the depressing bar area. The fish and chips was so oily and the fish tasted so old I left most of the meal behind and thought I'd venture out into the wet weather instead, in search of decent food. To face the teeming rain, concierge gave me an umbrella which was so broken that I couldn't advance more than 2 meters before retreating to the hotel. Alas, no more umbrellas available. And from there, the scene was set for one disappointment after another... no shower cap in the bathroom amenities, just the promise of a shower cap in an empty box. The printer in the 'business centre' wasn't working and wouldn't be working for the duration of my stay. A late night order to room service was completely forgotten and required reminder calls. A morning breakfast order of boiled egg arrived with knife and fork but no spoon. When I requested a teaspoon, a large desert spoon arrived... still not quite a practical utensil for attacking a little boiled egg. And on it went like this for the rest of my stay. In the end, I found myself EXPECTING to be let down. In isolation, none of these issues would normally warrant mentioning, but the cumulative effect was continuous disappointment and frustration. I lost all faith in the hotel's ability to execute anything properly. In addition, the decor is VERY tired, worn and dated. It really is quite a depressing place.

If you must stay here for business, bring some chocolate as you wont find any in the bar fridge and you're going to need something to cheer you up in your dreary room after work! If you are traveling for a holiday - find yourself a cheery B&B or boutique hotel somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Choca H,
I have taken note of your comments and will address your feedback with my team. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues further with you so that we can investigate thoroughly the points that you have highlighted; I can be contacted on +64 4 4733900. I apologise sincerely that your stay did not meet your expectations and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the Amora Hotel on a future visit.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed a the Amora last Saturday night and it was fabulous. We have stayed at other hotels around the city for special occasions, anniversaries etc but this hotel has been the best by far. The staff on reception were friendly, helpful and informative. The room, which was a club room on the 9th floor, was fantastic. The views from this floor are exceptional - you feel you are right on the waterfront and the sun just poured into the room in the morning. The bed was huge and comfortable. We had complimentary drinks and nibbles in the club lounge before having dinner in the hotel restaurant. The meal was great and when we decided that we wanted our dessert in our room the restaurant staff were very obliging! Sunday morning we had the best cooked breakfast I have had in years delivered to our room and the sunday paper...sitting by the window, looking out over the waterfront with the sun pouring in.... bliss!
And we had a late check out....we will certainly do this again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book a club room on 9th floor - views are best and you get complimentary drinks and nibbles in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear AnnaMarieLNewZealand,
It was such a pleasure to read of your experience here at the Amora, and I do look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.