We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A little tired!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Chose the Duxton as have stayed here previously over the years. In it's day it was really up there but now seems a little tired and run down. The room was adequate (view good).
Everything seemed old and worn. Tv old and a bit "snowy", chairs and table old and very marked. Bathroom was probably the best thing in the room (very opulent in it's day and somewhat timeless)..now showing a few cracks here and there. It was a bit dirty too (hairs and a soiled cotton bud on floor).

Bed was ok with a nice mohair throw and sheets were of high quality.

We like the Duxton as it has a real Hotel feel with a bit more buzz than other places (Nice bar area etc). On this visit we felt a bit weiry of staying here again and wouldn't go back unless it had a makeover/renovation. It's location however is good and it could be really brought into the 21st century and redeem it's "good, quality, luxurious reputation". Hopefully this happen as it does have a lot going for it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old tired and dated room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    343
    106
    29
    28
See reviews for
54
319
35
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

I agree with all the other reviewers. The Duxton is showing it's age and is in dire need of a major renovation. Also, I don't understand why NZ hotels don't serve more fruit at breakfast. Would have been nice to have had berries and bananas. Even nicer would have been hot food that had not been sitting on the buffet for ages. Apart from the location and views of the water, I enjoyed the gym and the free washer driers (both on the ninth floor). If you have a laptop, ask for the wireless code when you check in as that will save having to get it later.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tired decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

The Duxton is about 20 years old now, and showing her age.
The public areas look fine, but the rooms are in desperate need of an overhaul. Everything worked OK, but things that let it down are the old 20" CRT televisions, noisey aircon etc. Service is good, and just a tad below my expectations of a five-star. The casual restaurant on the mezzanine was a pleasant surprise. But the real reason you'll go to the Duxton is it's across the street from the performing arts centre of the city, a block from city hall, and truly in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Truly filthy carpets in rooms and halls!
I wore socks the entire stay to protect from dirt.
Rooms smell like old unwashed clothes and bodies (plus smoke)!
REALLY disgusting.
Breakfast the worst of our 24 day tour.
Location fine but Wellington is a small city and nothing is far away.
Go elsewhere!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smells dirty, looks dirty, IS dirty
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

I stayed in the Duxton for one night on business, and found the room to be a lot nicer than other places I have stayed. The bed was so comfortable, and the bathroom was beautiful. Although the food was great for both breakfast and dinner, the restraunt was quite out of date.
Its very close to Cuba street -well known for its shopping. Its also just down the road from the museum, Te Papa.
Really Enjoyed my stay.

  • Liked — The Bathroom!
  • Disliked — The look of the restaraunt
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

The Duxton was an terrible experience, starting with our supposedly free breakfast which we were charged for on Checkout. The customer service was some of the worst we have ever experienced, not to mention the fact that the breakfast was aweful. Additionally, the room was dirty and the funishings sad and worn. Will never go back to the Duxton again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Terrible Customer Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Spent an overnighter at the Duxton on Monday 12 November 2007. Checked it out on a well-known internet site for last minute bookings regards availability/price but had to 'run for the plane' and decided to just arrive and hope for the best. Well, they had a vacancy but refused to discount it even slightly taking into account they would have had to pay commission to this internet site had I booked online - but that's OK (I've rung hotels overseas directly instead of booking online and got a discount previously). What did matter though was the fact you can't get to sleep if you're paying for the exclusive Club Room, and from a few discreet enquiries this appears to be a well-known fact amongst staff . We had a Club Room on the top (9th) floor. You may not be aware of the fact that Wellington has always had a reputation for being windy. This particular evening wasn't overly windy - I mean the plane was able to land at the airport (it's a regular occurrance for aircraft to have to bypass Wellington and fly on to Ohakea Air Force Base at Palmerston North and then the passengers are bused down to Wellington!!). Well, I thought the roof was lifting - all I could hear were beams crunching and squirming all night - it was terrible. It occurred to me to get out of bed and dial O for reception and warn them of impending diaster - but I was too shattered with having to deal with my 18 month grandson who was travelling with me! I eventually nodded off but was awoken a few times during the night and it was still noisy and woke up feeling like ....... No sympathy from reception in the morning though - virtually told it was to be expected on the top floor ( it's only 9 floors high, don't forget!!). Apart from this hotel was fine, close to city, waterfront, museum, cable car - all an easy walk and the buffet breakfast in the Club Lounge was excellent. Just bring your earplugs!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.