We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers to your Saves list
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)   |  
Hotel amenities
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location, good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Normally when you head to hostels in cities, the standard drops signifcantly, but this was not the case with downtown backpackers. Located in a former hotel, the room was clean and had the luxury of an ensuite, the staff were helpful and it was great to have a 24hr reception.

The location is brilliant, a short walk from where intercity drops you off, and then very close for the ferry and exploring the town. I do agree with other reviews that the kitchen and dining area are so large that they are a tad impersonal and therefore hard to meet people, but they are very done out and I'm sure if you were a chatty type and headed to the bar, all would be fine.

Apart from the shower spraying all round the bathroom, (but it is after all a backpackers..) this place is a good base and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    95
    74
    30
    11
See reviews for
21
70
78
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HamiltonNZ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This place is awesome. From its Art Deco orginal features, its super fast lifts, it is close to everything its got everything you need...without the big budget. I love staying here. This was my third time.
I stayed three nights and booked a standard room. The room comes with a queen bed, TV and super hot shower and they are very clean. OK...... so some of the non Art Deco decor is a bit dated and tired.....it is still a lot better than some of the so called "Flash" hotels.
It has a great Cafe onsite, laundry and lockers to store you gear when you check out but still have time to explore the city.
The Metro New World Supermarket is just across the road in the train station. The beautiful Wellington water front is just around the corner.

The reception staff are young as (I felt very old) but they are great. Special thanks to "Tim" who allowed me to pick my favourite room.
The Wellington Downtown backpackers has rooms to cater to all budgets.
If the managers do read this...thanks for a great stay. Dont go changing...you guys Rock!

Room Tip: I prefer to request rooms that are at the end of the coridors and away from high traffic areas. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stay here everytime I'm in Wellington, but only because of the location. The hostel itself needs a revamp; some of the rooms don't seem to have been updated since the 70s (our bathtub was rusty, and there was a hole in the bathroom floor). I usually book an en-suite room, and they could be cleaner, especially the bathroom (although it looks really old so it probably IS clean, just so old it's hard to tell which stains CAN be removed). The bedspread always looks a little dodgy, so we always remove it before sitting on the bed.
Staff have not once been overly welcoming, and check-in always feels a little cold.
Fine for a night or two. Would not recommend for longer than that though.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hostel is very big and therefore lacks the homely feel of a smaller hostel. However, it is clean, has a very large kitchen and lounge area and a bar with pool tables and sky TV. The beds are comfy and there are laundry facilities and paid for internet.

However, a lot of the gas hobs in the kitchen did not work, the internet was quite intermittent and not all the headsets worked for skype but we didn't find this out until we had already put our money in the slot and paid for access. Check in was quite slow as it is such a big place and there were only one or two people on reception at any one time so we always had to wait to speak to anyone.

That said, it's an excellent location, in a nice art deco building a short walk from the ferry port and the the city centre. There's also a travel desk and a cafe providing cheap meals.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed here with a couple of friends because we had to catch the ferry early the next morning. That's the best thing I can say about it - it's handy for the railway/ferry, and it's cheap.
But our room was cramped (there were 3 of us and one had to either stay in bed or leave the room if the other two were getting dressed/undressed). The photo on their own website has carefully etched out the office block that now engulfs it - our room opened onto a dim lightwell, smelt musty and we never saw the sun.
I heard another guest complaining to the staff that his pillowcase hadn't been changed for a week.
Don't come here if you want hostel camaraderie. The kitchen/lounge are the old hotel's kitchen and dining area, so are huge and impersonal.
The building has some nice fittings from its former glory but it's all well worn and tarnished - a bit like finding a dowager duchess who's down on her luck and had to take a job as a cleaning lady

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I'm not sure why the rating is as low as it is. We loved this place. It had an old time charm, was clean, and obviously looked like a converted hotel from back in the day. New Zealand is expensive so the fact that you have access to their massive commercial kitchen is a huge plus. There is a decent sized grocery store in the train station nearby so that helps as well. It's not very centrally located but if you don't mind walking a bit into town then this is the place for you. We really enjoyed it and have recommended it to our friends. We had a double room en-suite and was able to get a pretty good price on it compared to the others in Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

That was the only hotel still available for the 2 two nights we stayed there, cause of a concert.
Our first night in a private bunk bed room was worse than our second night in a 20 bed room.
That's a big backpacker, too many rooms, too many people...not very well organized (only one big and dirty and smell kitchen !
Only positive thing : just in front of the railway station, that's it !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.