We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemere Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Rosemere Backpackers to your Saves list
Rosemere Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosemere Backpackers
6 MacDonald Crescent, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bad value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to have a night in the city (we were in a camper van). The staff were friendly (when they were actually around) but the building is old and run down and not very comfortable. We paid $72 for a double, shared bath and it was a ripoff. The bed was crap and the sheets and stuff grubby. The room was tiny. I agree with others that the walls are paper thin.
I got up in the morning to shower and the staff were cleaning the bathrooms? Why would you clean the bathrooms during the hours before check out when most people will need to use them?
Silly. We didn't make use of the kitchen but we were in it. Does not look like the clean and sparkling place on the website. Its grubby and smells like beer. TV / sitting are was really small. Nice outdoor space though.
Probably a lot better value in town. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    3
    9
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
7
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for several nights and on the whole would not recommend it. The walls are paper thin and the whole place has a forlorn look about it. You would be much better of at the YHA near the waterfront.
Positive points were: a relaxed atmosphere - a nice manager who kindly took my suitcase to the top where my room was located. Although I'm not of typical backpackers age I was very well accepted by the much younger guests. Meet some really nice people.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Friendly well-run place - free breakfast! -also some food on Wednesday evenings I believe. Good crowd when I was there - lively but not OTT! Very central - tho beware the short steep uphill climb at the end of the day - esp if you have a heavy pack! (mine not so heavy!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's a cheap and well locate hostel, but not very comfortable. For a night is okay.
The property is very old, so it has the typical problems of an old house.
You can walk to the water front, or the Te Papa museum in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Again I should have checked Trip Advisor before booking but I had stayed here about 10 years ago and it was fine. However this place is now disgusting and rundown. Filthy bedding and bathrooms. Noisy well after 2am at night in the communal areas which should be managed by the staff. It is a good location but we moved out after one sleepless night. That said there was one lovely staff member. Please don't stay if you want a reasonably clean room and want to get some sleep, stay if you want to party and don't care about cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a single room here. The interior was old and everything was broken.
The communal areas were very small and noisy.
Location is OK if you like to walk up a small hill.
Moved out after one night as I did not like it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed twice here. Once end of November where we just used the facilities and slept in our Campervan. Roger is quite friendly and helpful (he's the one who runs the place, other than that, most of them are WOOFers, we guess).
Second time was end of December where we reserved a double room in advance as we were arriving in Wellington very early (aroung 6 am). The girl on the phone stated that checkin is aroung 8 am and it is no problem to have the room straight away if rooms are available. And at that time there were. So we arrived with the night ferry at 6 in the morning, dragged our bags to Rosemere Backpackers and waited until 8 am. The people (Woofers?) were up around 7 but didn't really bother with us. Then, finally, at 8 am she (Sasha) opens the counter window and just simply said that they were fully booked last night and we would need to wait until 12 to get into the room. But we are very welcome to leave the bags there and go for a stroll in the lovely rain (her words!). She stated that in such a false friendly way that we were quite upsed about it. Even took a $10 key deposit without handing us the key.
We stayed the whole time in the video room. After several times asking when the room would be ready and telling Sasha that we are really tired, there was no result. So my partner went up and found an open door to a double room which was vacant and clean. So when he came down and asked her about it, she gave us the key and reminded us the we HAVE to be out by 10 am next morning and get the bed sheets out as well.

Bed was horrible: thin mattrace, dirty duvet.
Bathroom is normal Backpacker standard: cleaned once a day, don't expect anything fancy.
Free breakfast with toast, milk, jam, butter and cereal was alright.
Expect it to be noisy as people do sit outside very late into the night and drink.

I'll find something else the next time I'm in Wellington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosemere Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemere Backpackers

Address: 6 MacDonald Crescent, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Specialty lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rosemere Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemere Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemere Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.