We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament Buildings

Parliament Buildings
Molesworth St, Wellington 6160, New Zealand
64 04 471 9999
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$2,922*
and up
Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from...
Ranked #14 of 125 Attractions in Wellington
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free, one-hour guided tours of Parliament operate every day on the hour. Take a tour with one of our trained guides to visit key parts of Parliament's buildings and learn about our parliamentary processes, and have an insight in to New Zealand's history and culture. Tours operate seven days a week with the first tour at 10am, last tour 4pm. We recommend you arrive least 15 minutes before the tour departs as tour group sizes are limited and so you have time to check in your belongings. Everyone must leave their bags, coats, phones, cameras and other electronic devices in secure storage at the Visitor Centre in the Beehive. Individuals do not need to book. Groups of 10 or more are required to book their tour in advance. Specialist tours are avaiable on request but must be booked in advance.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

been there 3years ago was a great experience of me for the first time travelling and wondering around Wellington took photos outside the parliament building the behive shape so looks very cool and the garden outside the beautifull flowers makes me feel more relax and it was an awsome trip to me and it took 7hours drive from where our place is but on the way to Wellington their is lot of beautifull scenery that you can enjoy with

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    189
    52
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must do (especially for Kiwis)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A great (free) thing to do when in Wellington. The tour is slick, and only takes an hour so was a good fill in between other activities on our to do list. Based on the questions from others on my tour from overseas they seemed to find the content interesting - as did I. I think I would go again on a day when the house was sitting, just to get the full experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A very good tour, the restoration of these historic buildings is of a very high standard. Particularly loved the Parliamentary Library.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is our first visit to parliament & it was well worth the visit. The tour guide was very informative however she did have a saying that really got to us after she said the first half dozen times & by the end of the tour if I heard it one more time I would have screamed. After she asked if there were any questions she would always say "Good to go" I thinks she must have said it at least 20 times. The old parliament buildings are amazing & the wood & stain glass features were amazing. It was great to see where our laws are made up close.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Informative and intersting tour.... its free and is a nice way to spend a good afternoon.... heard that one can actually see the parliament in session but didnt get to see it....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament Buildings also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Parliament Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parliament Buildings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.