We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The basement is a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament Buildings

Parliament Buildings
Molesworth St, Wellington 6160, New Zealand
64 04 471 9999
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$2,931*
and up
Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from...
Ranked #14 of 125 Attractions in Wellington
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free, one-hour guided tours of Parliament operate every day on the hour. Take a tour with one of our trained guides to visit key parts of Parliament's buildings and learn about our parliamentary processes, and have an insight in to New Zealand's history and culture. Tours operate seven days a week with the first tour at 10am, last tour 4pm. We recommend you arrive least 15 minutes before the tour departs as tour group sizes are limited and so you have time to check in your belongings. Everyone must leave their bags, coats, phones, cameras and other electronic devices in secure storage at the Visitor Centre in the Beehive. Individuals do not need to book. Groups of 10 or more are required to book their tour in advance. Specialist tours are avaiable on request but must be booked in advance.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The basement is a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This building is good value. You must join in on a conducted tour. This is where history is made. The debating chamber, library and committee rooms are as you see them on TV or film. Especially interesting is the earthquake proofing work in the basement. Hats and cameras have to be surrendered before you tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    189
    52
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Andre, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Interesting because is the principal part of the city, and the guidance is very nice, except because we cannot go to the library, and this part look likes the most beutiful part.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes at Pariament”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

An interesting look into the workings of parliament and its history.

It takes about an hour and can be pre booked, although we just turned up and there was plenty of room.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If in Wellington you need to visit the Parliament Building. Free tours operate so definately join one. Overall the tour was good and the buildings and rooms are fantastic, but the tour did seem rushed. There were lots of cabinets displaying items which we just walked past without the guide stopping and explaining. Also some rooms we were in for about 3 minutes then onto another room quickly. The house of representatives was spectacular and we did spend the most of our time In here. For a free tour it was good but could have been more informative. No photography was allowed and be prepared for bag search and airport security before you go in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's interesting having a look around any country's parliamentary set-up and the tour is worth doing. Also it's interesting seeing the earthquake strengthening that has gone into the buildings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament Buildings also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Parliament Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parliament Buildings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.