We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Free and only an hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament Buildings

Parliament Buildings
Molesworth St, Wellington 6160, New Zealand
64 04 471 9999
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 144 attractions in Wellington
Type: Government Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Free, one-hour guided tours of Parliament operate every day on the hour. Take a tour with one of our trained guides to visit key parts of Parliament's buildings and learn about our parliamentary processes, and have an insight in to New Zealand's history and culture. Tours operate seven days a week with the first tour at 10am, last tour 4pm. We recommend you arrive least 15 minutes before the tour departs as tour group sizes are limited and so you have time to check in your belongings. Everyone must leave their bags, coats, phones, cameras and other electronic devices in secure storage at the Visitor Centre in the Beehive. Individuals do not need to book. Groups of 10 or more are required to book their tour in advance. Specialist tours are avaiable on request but must be booked in advance.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Its Free and only an hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The tour only takes an hour is very informative (if you have any interest in politics or earthquake protection its a must) very unusual style of architectural (sorry guys that beehive thing is just weird) but overall a great way to spend an hour indoors. The only but is if you only have a day dont bother about it until you have seen the museum.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    158
    43
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“An excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The parliament is a must do in Wellington. The tour takes about an hour and you are given insight into how the parliament works in New Zealand. If parliament is not sitting you will have an opportunity to go onto the floor of the house.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The tour guide (very nice elderly lady) is exceptional and it is a great experience learning and seeing the wonderful things our Parliamentarian are doing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Worth a trip if you are interested in government or politics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The day we visited here, the local papers were publicizing the expenditures of one of the members of Parliament, who spent $500 per day on limousine services last year--and he was only second in extravagance of the members. It was interesting hearing the response of the tour guide as to whether there was any limit to the expenditures.

The tour lasts an hour, beginning with a 10-minute or so presentation on a television. Unless you have really good hearing, we recommend sitting on the front row, as there is a lot of noise during some parts of the day; we were absolutely unable to hear from row 5, and my wife has extremely sensitive hearing.

The tour was informative and professional. There is a cloak closet to check your bags free of charge, and the tour is free, as well. It includes a short trip over to the beehive building, the executive offices of the parliament. The gift shop was particularly amusing in one regard--the title of one book that caught our eye was Don't Vote--It Only Encourages Them. The sayings and criticisms of elected officialdom was so entertaining, we bought a copy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We joined the tour with children (9 & 11 years old). It is very informative. My children found it very interesting and educational too, and not bored at all.

Don't go there if you are with kids that below 6 or 7 years old. There were a few young kids in our group. They felt so bored and groaned during the tour. The tour guide was having a hard time to make them quite.

Overall, we love this free tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament Buildings also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Parliament Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parliament Buildings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parliament Buildings to your Saves list