We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, family-friendly museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)

Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
55 Cable St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-381 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$2,939*
and up
Private Tour: 8-Day North Island Tour from...
Ranked #2 of 125 Attractions in Wellington
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Experience the whole of New Zealand in one building! Te Papa is New Zealand's bold, innovative and interactive national museum. Explore the great treasures and stories of this country, its unique natural environment, Maori culture and taonga (treasures), dynamic art heritage, and its fascinating history. Te Papa is located on Wellington's spectacular waterfront. Open every day from 10am to 6pm and until 9pm on Thursdays. General admission is free.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, family-friendly museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a great museum that has something for everyone, regardless of their age. Great interactive exhibits for kids, along with lots of information for adults, but always told in an engaging manner. We only had a couple of hours to spend in the museum, but we could easily have spent the day there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,339
    674
    145
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great, huge museum .. definitely visit if you have time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We aren't usually museum people, but if you're only going to go to one museum in New Zealand or if you're looking for a good way to spend an afternoon (or if it's raining!), definitely check this place out. We unfortunately only had a couple of hours to spend here, so I can't give too detailed of a review, but we really enjoyed our time. And it's free!

The highlight for us was the unique, modern, active marae (Maori meeting house) and the other Maori exhibits. Very interesting peek into their culture, presented in an informative, modern way.

The museum is easy to find, on the Wellington waterfront, and there's plenty of relatively inexpensive parking lots within close walking distance of the museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Make a Donation it's free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

You can get lost in time there is so much in which to immerse yourself that a day passes so quickly, the exhibit's are so many that a break for lunch is needed before you continue and the staff are more than knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“interesting and helpfull people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

everything is nice about this museum also the building itself, the permanent exhibition are very good, we did not go to the temporary exhibition. You will learn more about NZ, the history about the Maori, the immigrants, flora and fauna.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place is so special. The feeling in the building is beautiful, almost spiritual. I was there most of the day and still could have stayed longer!! Exhibits are well laid out and the cafe was excellent too.If you only see one thing in Wellington make sure this is it!! It was my birthday and my husband bought a beautiful pair of Bill Reid earrings.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa) also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.