We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definetly return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wellington to your Saves list
Novotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$30 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Port Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“definetly return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

first stay and wil definetly return-take the $9 airport bus and get off at the captial quay arcade right on lambton quay-the lift is at the rear of the arcade-takes you up to 9th floor and hey presto you are in the hotel itself-(actually the restaurant-weird steel curtain thing will greet you)saves a long walk around on the terrace.highly recommend the breakfast-only $20 on weekends and mondays-good variety and chef wil eggs to order-no extra charge.Caucus Bar offers happy hour,$4 at 4,$5 at 5,$6 at 6,hotel is good location for exploring-relish cafe in capital arcade offers
yum salads and snacks to take away-pop down to the waterfront and enjoy-Novotel staff were friendly and a sense of humour -great stay -will definetly return ...(agree the curtains in the room are hideous-looks like a murder scene?) room was good size,all comforts and I used the pillow menu-as ones provided are feather-too soft for this goldilocks..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Batman2951,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    655
    187
    37
    16
See reviews for
270
536
115
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Novotel in Wellington. A 20 min taxi ride from the airport cost us $40.00. We were greeted by a friendly staff member. We were located in room 611, facing business buildings and lovely houses. Room was spacious and clean. Hairdryer is available, ironing board in cupboard. Breakfast every morning in the restaurant was great. Free 20 min internet is available in main foyer. We discovered a day later that the lift in the restaurant takes one directly to the main street, this saves you walking up a steep hill. Due to the hotel being in the business district, it is very quite at night. Across the road, there is a small grocery shop where you can buy milk, pain killers etc. We didn't use the gym facilities, so cannot comment.
A hint, read all the details on the TV about the hotel, we didn't, thus we didn't know there was a pillow menu. We ended up coping with really soft pillows. However saying that, the bed was fantastic.
Overall we will return to the Novotel in Wellington if we ever go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear NoddyMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Novotel Wellington. We very much value the comments you made and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here twice in August, both times while crossing on the ferry with our car. Missed the earthquakes, but the building looks solid! Very handy to the motorway and the ferry. Rooms up to the usual standard for Novotel, and the Restaurant was handy and very good. Staff very helpful with parking as well.

Room Tip: Can park on the road after 6.00pm for free, as the helpful staff pointed out, so long as you shift y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear HamishLink,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. We appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wellington is a 4 star-plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of Wellington, the beautiful capital of New Zealand. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks with your partner or family, the hotel is close to the Te Papa Museum, Convention Centre, Parliament, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. With 139 well appointed rooms, the hotel also features conference facilities, a restaurant, bar, fitness centre, broadband Internet services and valet car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.