We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wellington to your Saves list
Novotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$30 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A beautiful modern room. I didn't need housekeeping since I just had a 2 night stay, but they did call to double check. A nice convenience to use the free Internet in the lobby as the wi-fi is pricey. Great back door location which drops you right into midtown. The service I received was excellent as the front desk helped arrange an airport shuttle and was able to replace a lost key card. Some might feel the pillow top mattress is too soft, but the mattress was firm underneath. Good selection of movies if you prefer and the daily rate was quite reasonable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mikesmutt,
Thank you for posting such great feedback following your recent stay with us and we hope to be of service again on your next visit to the Capital.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    656
    189
    37
    16
See reviews for
272
536
116
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I travel for business to Wellington every week, and the Novotel is the best of the range I stay in. Not amazing, but ok. I like the refurbished rooms (iPod docs should be compulsory for all hotels!) but the common areas are fairly tired. About the best I have found though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear David D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights over Easter and found the housekeeping poor,: needing to phone for towels on the night of our arrival and for toilet rolls to be replenished just after the room had been serviced the next day. Although the bed had been 'made' the bottom sheet was not flat or tucked in. Housekeeping is badly in need of some quality checks (as we pointed out on departure). The hotel was busy and the dinong room inadequate to cope with demand, with few restaurants being open in Wellington on Easter Sunday and Monday. We have stayed in quite a few Accor prperties and found this to be closer to a Mercure than Novotel in facilities and service. Hsrdly 4 Star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ken W,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the Trip Advisor website. It is very disappointing to read your comments with regards the level of service your encountered and I can only apologise for this and ensure you than I will discuss your comments with both my Executive Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

As an Accor Vacation Club Member and Accor Advantage Plus this rates highly on my list of Accor Hotels stayed at. In Wellington fro a reunion therefore location was superb with being able to walk everywhere.
Room standard was pleasant although I treat a room as somewhere to sleep and refresh and therefore the "niceties" are often overlooked by myself.
The surprise is the quality of the Restaurant - absolutely superb both for breakfast and dinner. The service and food were of highest quality and the attention to detail was very noticeable. Would rank with most high class restaurants.
Well done and continue doing what you are doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback on the hotel, we very much appreciate the comments you made and look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the CBD with a lift taking you directly onto Lambton Quay from early morning until 10.30pm. The rooms are very recently renovated in an excellent contemporary style with a good workspace and a comfortable bed with the only weakness being the rather lumpy pillows. The service was polite but the restaurant staff definitely need a little further training. During my stay I was entertained at dinner one night with flirting and joking between kitchen staff and the serving staff who did for a while seem to forget that there were guests in the restaurant. Ah you may say, I should feel pleased to get dinner and a show but having to hunt down staff to order some desert and coffee as they were busy checking updates on facebook wears a bit thin. My suggestion is stay here but eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a view across to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear David H,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is disappointing to read of your restaurant experience and I will certainly be discussing this with both my Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager, as this is totally unacceptable.
Once again thank you for the feedback and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Most flights into NZ arrive around midnight. Each time we come over from Oz we stay the first night at a Novotel. Wellington is well located, rooms modern, clean and quiet. Staff we friendly even at 12.30am. Cost $44Nz for a taxi from Airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear PeterBudd,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to read you continue to utilise the hotel on each of your visits to NZ and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we had a great time in wellington the hotel was in a central location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down side for us was the bed was to soft, still comfortable but not right for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear andyf_11,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We very much value your comments and hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wellington is a 4 star-plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of Wellington, the beautiful capital of New Zealand. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks with your partner or family, the hotel is close to the Te Papa Museum, Convention Centre, Parliament, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. With 139 well appointed rooms, the hotel also features conference facilities, a restaurant, bar, fitness centre, broadband Internet services and valet car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.