We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wellington to your Saves list
Novotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed there for five nights and enjoyed it; especially the espresso coffee maker, which gave us really good coffee. We did not, however, include breakfast service since to our opinion it was ridiculously expensive. Good service, clean bathroom and linen. Free wireless is also a nice option, but only with the best rooms. Very nice elevator going straight down to Lambton Quay, saving a really long walk around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Anna_Maria_Estera,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    700
    216
    40
    17
See reviews for
294
589
119
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend and i was really amazed at the new loom rooms. I stayed here last year before the refurb and i was disappointed, decided to give it another go once i seen rooms had been done. We had a superior king room on the 6th floor with a view of the harbor. The room was light and modern and the bed was very comfortable not super soft not super hard just right. Bathroom was all new fittings and matched the color of the rooms.

We had buffet breakfast in the morning which was really nice and large selection.

I would stay here again and is now one of my favorite wellington hotels.

Well done Novotel rooms look great and i will be recommending the hotel to my clients as im a travel agent :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Samiez,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed our new look rooms and we hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only stayed for one night this time after arriving just before midnight, but had stayed for a weekend a number of years ago and the service and overall standard is still the same - excellent. We took the option of including breakfast as we didn't want to have to wander around the next morning and although there was a good selection I believe there is room for improvement,
The location of the hotel is excellent if you want to do shopping and explore the CBD as it has an entry on two streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Marg173,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the Trip Advisor website. We appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Novotel was once the Accor "business" class hotel, but with the introduction of new Accor brands the business focus seems to have blurred a little - we noticed bus groups of tourists arriving and leaving. Situated between The Terrace and Lambton Quay, the hotel is within walking distance to the railway station (yes, Wellington still has suburban and inter-city train services), the main business and shopping district, the parliament buildings and the Kelburn Cable Car, which is a handy way to access the Botanical Gardens. It's also only a short taxi ride to the Inter-island ferry and the waterfront. As others have mentioned, the hotel offers lifts down to Lambton Quay which neatly avoids the need for a tough uphill walk to The Terrace - after a hard day's sightseeing and shopping, we were grateful...

My wife and I stayed for three nights in late November 2012 at a rate of NZ$180/per night, a rate which seemed to reflect the old business focus. However, this rate did buy us a "superior room with a king bed" and there was a daily full (cooked) breakfast included in our tariff. On arrival our room was clean and spacious and included a small bar fridge (handy for your own drinks...) as well as a modern flat-panel TV and electric jug. Packets of various teas and even decaf coffee were supplied, along with cups, saucers and wine glasses. There was a small table and sofa between bed and the window, and the window gave a panoramic view over the roofs of Lambton Quay. The ensuite had the standard shower-in-the-bath option with all the usual shower accessories. A free morning newspaper was also supplied and apart from having to pay for in-room Wi-Fi (though Wi-Fi access was free for 30 minutes in the lobby) the accommodation was very good. Staff were also inobtrusive and helpful and breakfast in the restaurant was comprehensive - though on our first morning we did see some European tourists look in vain for the cheese and cured meat selection. To the hotel's credit, this was supplied the next day. While we did not have dinner in the restaurant we did note from the menu that dishes and prices appeared to reflect a typical 4-star hotel - no problems if you are on an expense account!

All in all we enjoyed our stay. Windy Wellington even turned on the sunshine and somehow, the eternal wind abated to just a mild gale. But, would we come again? Yes - provided we both live long enough!

Room Tip: The higher rooms offer a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear OnceBittenMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the hotel. We very much value your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got a room inclusive of breakfast for two for $152. We were put into oen of a few recently renovated "eco" rooms - not sure exactly how they are eco, but it was a very nice room with a comfortable bed and good bathroom.

Breakfast the next day was quite extensive, although the scrambled eggs seemed to be powdered.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear MargoBebb,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate the comments you made. With regards the eggs, I can assure you we only use fresh eggs in the hotel. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to being of service again in the future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at the Novotel in Wellington and I just keep going back because it's perfectly place in the city, I always get good service and my stay is pain free. What more can I say!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Dreydon,
Thank you for the great feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and, overall, I had a good stay. The hotel looks ugly and the reception area/bar/restaurant feels very dated. However, the room was a pleasant surprise, with nicer decor and a really good comfortable bed. I ate breakfast here, which was reasonably good value and perfectly OK. The location is good, with relatively easy access to the city's main streets and sights. Staff were friendly and helpful (as is almost everyone in NZ!) It was decent value for money too but there is no free wifi, which is annoying. Wellington was my favourite city in NZ, with a really fun vibe to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Davidfk,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to being of service again on your next visit to the Capital.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wellington is a 4 star-plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of Wellington, the beautiful capital of New Zealand. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks with your partner or family, the hotel is close to the Te Papa Museum, Convention Centre, Parliament, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. With 139 well appointed rooms, the hotel also features conference facilities, a restaurant, bar, fitness centre, broadband Internet services and valet car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.