We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wellington

Save Saved
You added Novotel Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #5 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Write a Review

1,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    607
    162
    35
    14
See reviews for
246
493
109
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently stayed for two nights with my daughter in a twin room.

The room was modern, clean and bright and centrally located which made it easy to walk everywhere. I don't usually comment on the beds but they were SO comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I have had in a long time.

Front desk and restaurant staff were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful.

We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings. There was alot of variety, the food was fresh, well presented and very tasty for a buffet - something I usually don't enjoy at hotels but this was definitely one of the better ones.

Overall I was thoroughly impressed and would definitely return. Here's hoping management recognise they currently have a great team working for them!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear BBsFamily,

Thank you for posting such great feedback, we very much appreciate your comments. We have received a large number of positive comments on the new beds since the completion of the room's refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back to try them again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

What I like about the Novotel chain is the consistency - whether you're in Lantau, Hong Kong or here in Wellington you can expect the same level of standard in qualty and service.

But to me the real asset is their pillow menu. I prefer firm pillows which is usually hard to get in most hotel chains but is available at Novotels. Take away the fancy decor, hot breakfast buffet and swanky lobby - there is nothing better than a good night's sleep.

For those who have not been to Wellington, it is a very hilly city so the hotel actually straddles 2 main streets - the Terrace and Lambton Quay - the former on the 9th? floor and the latter on the 1st floor. All my meetings were within a 5 minute walk of the hotel as are the shops, harbour, tourist office, some museums and many eating places. I had the fortune of being taken to an All Blacks match at Westpac stadium which was also walking distance (about 15 minutes).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear DazzaRB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take full advantage of our central city location.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you want clean new and bright this is for you. The newly renovated rooms offer just that. I would prefer to stay at the Novotel Wellington rather than pay double at a so called 5 star hotel with dated bathrooms and carpets. Its simple, but very comfortable and extremely new looking and clean. The fact that it is in a great location is a bonus. My wife normally likes "up market" but I got no complaints from this selection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kenbutt5556,

Thank you for posting feedback following your recent stay with us. The comments you made are very much appreciated and we hope to be of service again on your next visit to the Capital.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 as part of our honeymoon to New Zealand. The airport bus drops close by on Lambton Quay and you get to the hotel easily from here. This is a very good hotel right in the middle of Wellington on Lambton Quay close to the shops and the Wellington Cable Car. Rooms have recently been re-furbished and are very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the rate and was pretty good. There are two Macs in reception and you get 15 minutes free internet which is worthwhile to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Matty17r,

Congratulations on your recent wedding.

It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Bacon for breakfast was superb. I've had none better in the 30 years I have been travelling and staying away from home, for business as well as leisure purposes in NZ, Australia and Fiji. Not a big thing but it is the little things that make something good, excellent.

Rochelle was our waiter when we had dinner at the cactus restaurant. She made the meal that mush better with her persnable service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear russellandmel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The comments you made regarding the bacon are very much appreciated and I will personally pass your feedback onto Rochelle. Once again, thank you for the positive feedback.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133-137 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wellington is a 4 star-plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of Wellington, the beautiful capital of New Zealand. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks with your partner or family, the hotel is close to the Te Papa Museum, Convention Centre, Parliament, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. With 139 well appointed rooms, the hotel also features conference facilities, a restaurant, bar, fitness centre, broadband Internet services and valet car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.