We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Art Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Cable Street, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
christchurch
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quirky and nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The first thing that strikes you about this hotel is the quirky interior decor. The location is awesome. My purpose was to see Annie at the St. James and it was less than a 10 min walk to the show. It is across from Te Papa and the lovely waterfront walk of the city. The room was small but beautifully decorated and finally a room that has decent curtains that block out the city lights. It was quiet and comfortable and had a Nespresso machine. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Great review thanks. Glad you enjoyed the ART. We have more than 100 pieces in the collection and I am adding new works quite regularly. Most recent is a large bull by Michael TUFFERY. A similar work is held in the Te Papa collection.
We have also just hung a new Peter STITCHBURY portrait of Lorde which is stunning.
And you liked the NESPRESSO, that's great.
Next time, try our award winning restaurant, HIPPOPOTAMUS, it's the best French restaurant in New Zealand, staffed totally by French nationals.
And don't forget, the best information and pricing comes direct from our website.
Kind regards
Chris Parkin 021459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    300
    111
    36
    20
See reviews for
100
402
52
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was my 2nd stay, and just as good as before. Travelling with my daughter and 2 children we would like to have had 2 adjoining rooms, but were told there weren't any. However there clearly are, as our rooms had locked doors, so a bit disappointing. We were in the apartment block, can't remember what it was last time. Prices pretty steep but all staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet much enjoyed by the kids. Great location.

Room Tip: You might have to insist to get the kind of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for the review. Much appreciated. We have a number of adjoining rooms, most of which comprise a one bedroom suite and a premier studio. I can only think that the reason we weren't able to provide one on the day, was that one or other room was already occupied.
Not sure how you made your booking, but direct to our website always has the best information and pricing.
Please call me if I can help further, or next time you visit.
Many thanks
Chris Parkin. 021459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel has two parts, a new apartment block and an older hotel block. I've stayed a number of times at the apartment and its been fine.

This time we stayed at the hotel part and it was terrible.

It started badly with an online booking all the way to the end an then it said not available call the hotel, after laboriously putting in all the dates, address, credit cards to get to the end and hear its not working isn't a great start. Rang the hotel and made a booking and the person was ok, not particularly helpful was probably a red flag I missed.

Arrived and the room was appallingly dirty, I'll attach some photos to show the point. Mouldy, hairs in the shower, flaking paint and dust. The handbasin was cracked badly and dirt in the cracks so been like that a long time. Cleaned some off with a face cloth, it was both poorly maintained and poorly cleaned. Frankly I was just stunned at the condition of the room.

Just slept and avoided any facilities. On check out was asked how the stay was and commented on the state of the room. The response was a shrug we plan to upgrade them later, clearly ambivalent.

I would possibly go back to the apartments but would check recent reviews Carefully in case the cleaning relates to both but not the hotel until its fixed.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Terrible slip in system. That room is supposed to be out of order, awaiting refurbishment and shouldn't have been assigned to a guest. My fault entirely.
Your next stay is on me, and I'd welcome the opportunity to show you our refurbished rooms.
I've checked our website, and can't find any fault with it. Believe me I know how frustrating it is to get to the end and suddenly find you need to start all over again. But we are continuing to check our site to see if we can replicate the issue.
Look forward to your contacting me.
Chris parkin. 021 459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Second time staying at this hotel and loved it. Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment and could not ask for more. Close to restaurants, Te Papa, Waterfront. Loved the artwork and the decor. Only thing missing was an instruction manual for the espresso machine (not very technology minded)
All in all ... would highly recommend !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
You will be pleased to know I am in the process of updating the EXPRESSO machine instructions. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. We are currently in the middle of refurbishing all of our Hotel side rooms. It's a long process but the rewards will be great. Ask to be shown around next time you visit.
Chris parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel in a two bedroom suite and found it to be everything we wanted - great location, large room (across from Te Papa) with a galley kitchen, wonderful front desk service. Also enjoyed a drink in the lovely Hippopotamus bar. Very pleased with our choice and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Love to see you again. By then our refurbishment program will be completed. Probably a few new art works as well.
Chris parkin 021459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel (Harbour Wing) for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The quirky hotel has a great atmosphere, with various artworks displayed. We found the concierges extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions. The Hotel is obviously held in high esteem, as there were two art launchings just in the time we were there. While we didn't eat at the hotel's Hippopotamus Restaurant, it looked delightful, although pricy. It certainly was highly recommended by our cabbies to and from the airport (about $34NZ). The hotel is extremely close to numerous great restaurants and cafes. We had four fabulous meals in four different places. Everything is close by, including a supermarket over one road and the Te Papa Museum across another. The gym and lap pool were an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Kevin, thanks for your review. Pleased you enjoyed Wellingtons atmosphere, especially a selection of our restaurants, which I reckon are up there with the best internationally.
Let your fellow Sydney siders know what a great little place Wellington can be for a weekend. Fly Friday afternoon and with the early Monday flight be back at your desk by 9am.
You mentioned our art collection. This now extends to more than 100 works by contemporary NZ artists. Well worth a visit even if you aren't staying with us.
Regards
Chris Parkin 021 459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the apartments and having a kitchenette was handy for our weeklong stay. The art and decor was fantastic and added quirkiness to this hotel. Our room was comfortable. The location is perfect to reach any Wellington attraction, everything is in walking distance and if you happen to be staying on a weekend, do yourself a favour and stop in at the farmers market! Great variety of food stalls to suit all tastes. Two downsides to this accommodation was the lack of opening windows, the room felt a bit stuffy and some more fresh air would have been really nice. the other issue was the level of street noise - some of it the expected traffic noise you get in city locations but mostly drunken revellers yelling out at all hours. Not the hotels fault and nothing they can really do but worth keeping in mind if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep in Wellington.

Room Tip: Apartment stays overlook the side street and do get a bit of traffic / late night revellers noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Art Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Museum Art Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Art Hotel is a privately owned luxury hotel in Wellington city located opposite Te Papa and the waterfront. The hotel is listed on Yahoo’s list of ten of the best hotels with magnificent artwork of the world. On site facilities include an art gallery, fitness centre, sauna, lap and spa pool, beautiful French restaurant Hippopotamus and Day Spa. The hotel offers both traditional studios and apartment style suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Museum Art Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Art Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.