We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, albiet tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Save Saved
You added Museum Art Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Cable Street, Wellington, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxury, albiet tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We decided to treat ourselves, and booked the best suite available - Park Terrace Suite.

It was a good size, comfortable furnishings, but the disappointment was the wear and tear of the fabrics, curtains, carpets. About 2 years past best presentation.

The views were lovely, but with TePapa in front, limits the city and harbour views. And Oriental bay is blocked by the Capital Apartments.

We had issues with the ovens - but fixed within half hour.
Air cond broke down for 3 days, in the middle of summer. And took 3 complaints and a demand to see the Manager personally to get it addressed on day 4. Management did extend a goodwill credit..... gratefully excepted, but we did have to spend the hot afternoons out of the fuly glassed apartment, as one of the main balcony doors had NO key.

Museum Hotel is a favourite of ours: Given the nightly cost of the "Suite" , I do not see the value in this tired (but huge) apartment. The 1 bedroom apartments in the back building are much newer and better presented.
Suggestion: Save on nightly accommodation, and dine at Hippopotamus (onsite 5* French restaurant) instead.

Room Tip: high floor for views INTERNET: do not pay for Hotel internet (yep they still charge....) stand on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    268
    99
    34
    20
See reviews for
90
366
45
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for work in a standard room. The hotel lobby areas certainly promise a lot but the room I got was really depressing. Dark furnishings, quite old, and a feeling of gloom pervaded. I saw other nicer areas of the hotel but I had got a discount rate so I guess should have expected a poorer quality room but it was still a disappointment. The reception staff member was unfriendly, never smiled or made any attempt to be friendly. This added to the sense of doom and gloom I experienced during the stay.

Room Tip: pay for a really good room - don't get a cheap deal as they give you the worst room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We have started a major room refurbishment program, which will see all of our Hotel rooms substantially changed by the middle of this year. They look wonderful, and are very much in keeping with the design/art theme generally presented in the Hotel. Please make a point of asking for a redecorated room for your next stay.
I hope you took time out to enjoy our Pool and Gym, and perhaps you also made the Sunday market across the road. It's wonderful!
Chris Parkin 021 459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days in early January 2014. The hotel is very well placed for the traveller. Set in Wellington Central it is walking distance from the waterfront and across the road from The Museun of New Zealand, Te Papa.

The hotel has a beautiful art theme and I was pleasantly surprised to see several motorcycles displayed in the foyer (Owners). The hotel is very well appointed, comfortable (rooms are quiet) and has a great restaurant. Service is great and nothing seems to be a problem.

We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The Apartments were great. Our room had a functional kitchen with washing machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have stayed at a few hotels and this one is the best so far for the value, standard and quality. The reception and hotel staff acted professionally which made the stay more valuable. I've paid huge rates in the past to try and get what I got from here at a more reasonable price...
My friend visits Wellys regularly and only stays here. She has always recommended it so we decided to try it. Now, if visiting Wellington again...we will now only stay here!
The Museum Hotel in Wellington is absolutely Wellington!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visually stunning hotel with a great bar for the evening which makes you feel you want to dress up. Unusual for NZ. Gorgeous rooms and pool and very central. Staff very helpful..... would recommend staying here, especially if you are touring and fancy a bit of luxury :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent 2 nights on the last leg of a drive from Auckland. Great feel to the place. The room (Executive Suite) was spacious, well appointed and spotless. The espresso machine is a very nice touch. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Next time you stay, we will have more room choice for you as our refurbishment program moves along. All of the rooms in the older part of the Hotel are undergoing refurbishment, and the initial results are stunning. Very design oriented to go with the art theme and decor of the rest of the Hotel.
Thanks for takings the time to post a review.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

stayed for nearly two weeks when we were relocating back to Wellington from overseas (cost on work)...great location, great rooms, great black out curtains for awesome sleeps! lovely restaurant with nice artwork throughout and friendly staff. rooms pretty quiet if the neighbours are not partying in the city! The spa and gym both too small for a 4-5 star hotel. not sure i would want to pay the full rate for such a long time but would be a nice hotel for a getaway couples wknd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Art Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Museum Art Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Art Hotel is a privately owned luxury hotel in Wellington city located opposite Te Papa and the waterfront. The hotel is listed on Yahoo’s list of ten of the best hotels with magnificent artwork of the world. On site facilities include an art gallery, fitness centre, sauna, lap and spa pool, beautiful French restaurant Hippopotamus and Day Spa. The hotel offers both traditional studios and apartment style suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Museum Art Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Art Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.