We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Art Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our two bedroom, one bathroom suite was land side, in the new part of the hotel, overlooking a crossroads, a car showroom and low enough in the building to hear the noise, albeit not much, from the road. The bathroom was more like an en-suite to one of the bedrooms with an extra door at the other end. The kitchen area was functional but lacked any spare cutlery or crockery even having only two tea spoons for four of us.

The room had a coffee maker but no pods were available to purchase and the milk steamer had been disabled, so what was it's purpose in being there? The fridge was stuffed with drinks that would be tempting to drink but were there for you to buy, leaving little room for any provisions you may want to put in for your dinners etc. The price list for all these was well hidden and included, when found, condoms!

Early in our two night stay I mentioned that two lights did not work, including that for the kitchen area. No one had bothered to mend these by the time we had left.

There is only one comfortable chair in the "living area" and that is the end of a chaise long that has a back rest (for one) with two additional stools only one of which had a decidedly hollow interior. This is not suitable accommodation for four people.

Whilst there is free internet access in the lobby, it's availability and speed is questionable. We managed to resort to accessing the occasional Internet access in our room through cbdfree although this was also not available for longer than 30 minutes at a time.

The lobby area is quite and quirky to say the least with random items of artwork scattered around the area which will not be to everybody's taste.

On the plus side, the breakfast room had good views over the harbour and the food was as you would expect from a buffet breakfast in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    347
    127
    37
    21
See reviews for
107
469
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ADELAIDE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Executive City side apartment was everything as per listing well equipped with cooking, laundry & coffee making facilities--separate bedroom & lounge areas all clean and tidy. WiFi is available in your room for a fee per hour/day/or data amount but free in the hotel lobby,however using the hotel's 2 guest computers down there is OK if other people are not writing a novel or updating their social sites---we waited over 90 minutes for a chance to check flight details and enquired at reception if there was a courtesy time limit, the answer was No and that was the end of it as far as the reception person was concerned. There should be a card alongside each computer stating maximum of 15 minutes session time if people are waiting. Location is perfect for dining out with lots of bars and dining places within walking distance plus bus transport just a block away.Room rates are expensive relative to room type and there is a 2% credit card surcharge when paying your account.

Room Tip: Harbour side has best rooms but check the rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments re lobby Internet access. Not only should our staff have intervened to assist you, but the sign asking guests to limit their time to 15 minutes had also disappeared! My apologies.
Thankyou for your other comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is opulently decorated with original works of art, plush furniture, chandeliers and mirrors.
The lobby is gorgeous, a lovely place to sit and relax while enjoying a lovely glass of NZ wine or a coffee and enjoy the beautiful art. Or use the free computers on the internet or free wifi in this lobby.
The staff is very helpful, pleasant and smartly dressed in black.
The Hippopotamus restaurant is a french restaurant with french speaking staff. We enjoyed one of the most delicious meals we have ever eaten. Everything was spectacular, view, food, wine and service. We also had breakfast here which was delicious Ala carte or buffet.
Our room was a 'standard' room and it was lovely it and very comfortable. The hotel also has rooms with balconies and views over the harbour and city.
The hotel offers a heated indoor lap pool and spa and gym.
Location is excellent, opposite the Te Papa, harbour and in easy walking distance of Courtney Place which is full of quirky cafes and resturants, Cuba St (shopping district).
We will definitely stay at this wonderful hotel next time we are in Wellington NZ.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a harbour view as the view from the restaurant was wonderful. We liked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We'd actually give this hotel a 4.5 rating if that were possible.
As arranged by a travel agent, we spent two nights here on in a Harbor Room our way from the North to South Island and one night on our way back. Both rooms (#241 and #341) had the same generous layout with a fancy double shower, robes (slippers on the first visit but not on the second), soaps, tissues, lotion, and shampoo. The room had a safe and fridge, luggage rack, ironing board, iron, and small balcony facing the street/harbor. There is free wifi in the lobby area as well as 2 PCs for guest use. Otherwise, there are charges for wifi in the room. There are also complementary washer/dryers on two of the floors. Parking is a steep $20 NZD per night but local parking is almost equally expensive.
Our rooms included complete buffet breakfasts which are huge: cereals, fruits, cheeses, smoked salmon, breads and rolls, eggs, bacon/ham, sausage, tomatoes, plus juices, coffee and tea. The view from the restaurant is lovely. We did not eat dinner there.
If classified, in our view, this would be a 4.5-star hotel by European standards.
The hotel is right across the street from the museum and other activities on the water. A grocery store is around the corner. Cuba Street and other restaurants are a few blocks away. We had no problems walking to the funicular, taking it to the gardens and walking back from there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this hotel because of it's handy location, walking distance to just about everything, shops, restaurants &city & supermarket. We didn't realise check in was 3pm, not 2pm as most other hotels. We arrived at 2.30 & our room wasn't ready, that was ok as we were half an hour early. We went for a walk around & returned 1.5 hours later, & our room still wasn't quite ready!! There was no explanation or apology from the very average reception staff. It would have been nice of them to direct us to the bar or even to the complimentry coffee in the lobby (that we noticed the next day).. The room itself was nice. Comfy bed, minibar, lovely balcony overlooking the harbour & a big bathroom. We had trouble keeping the water in the shower & not all over the bathroom floor. Obviously we weren't the only ones with this problem as the bathroom door had water damage on the bottom. The room was clean, though when our room was tidied on the 2nd day the used coffe cups weren't cleaned.
The art etc around the hotel is amazing & even if not staying in the hotel I suggest a visit to the toilets on the ground floor, they are awesome...
We used the parking which was very handy, whoever was on the concierge desk was always friendly & helpful, pity I can't say the same for reception staff. Quite robotic, no conversation at all, just processed our account.. no thank you for staying or how was your stay.
Loved the free internet in the lobby but found the heating there way too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Muuem Hotel is well located and easily accessed. brief walking distance from Te Papa museum and Wharf eating areas. Accomodation is clean, tidy and pleasnt with minimal noise. The confernce facilities reflect an older style building which is adapted successfully to confernec purposes,Food is standard conference food - not special.

Room Tip: Ensure traveller does not stay at the back of the hotel. I heard serious comments about the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went down to Wellington for a romantic weekend. Catching the Air NZ nightrider flight from Auckland on Friday allowed us to have two full days in Wellington before heading home on Sunday night.
We arrived at the hotel at 11.30pm, there were still plenty of staff around to check us in. Reception staff were very friendly and ensured we had everything we needed. I had ordered chocolates and the bath pack as surprise for my husband and it was neatly presented in the room. The room was very spacious and clean (patio room, looking out to Te Papa). We also used the lap pool and spa pool, both were very clean and windows were just being cleaned while we were swimming. Overall, the entire hotel was perfectly clean (bathroom, halls, etc.).
We ordered room service for breakfast and everything came on time and tasted delicious. The person dropping off our food was also very friendly.
The hotel is in walking distance to all major sights in Wellington. We enjoyed a stroll along the waterfront, a visit to Te Papa, the Waterfront Markets on Sunday, the trolley ride and the Botanic Gardens. We did not have to catch a taxi/bus once as everything is so close by.
We had a great stay at this hotel and would definitely always come back! The artwork in the foyer, halls, room was amazing and very interesting, too. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumh, Owner at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed our Artwork, and walking the streets of Wellington. It's a magic place.
Chris Parkin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Art Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Museum Art Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris Parkin's Museum Art Hotel is New Zealand's most distinctive design hotel. Privately owned and operated, it boasts a comprehensive collection of New Zealand contemporary art, putting in it in the worlds top ten of this genre. Located on Wellington's jewel like waterfront, opposite Te Papa, the hotel is comprised of 164 rooms, suites and apartments, New Zealand's leading French restaurant; Hippopotamus, as well as a pool and gymnasium. *The Museum Art Hotel pool, spa, gym and sauna will be undergoing a major refurbishment during February and March 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Museum Art Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Art Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.