We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated But Still GOOD To Stay In” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Wellington to your Saves list
Mercure Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Dated But Still GOOD To Stay In”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had spent 1 night and it was okay, as I expected . Building and facilities were a Bit old but all was working properly, comfortable, and clean. Beds comfy and Bathroom clean and nice. No complains. In fact staff were all very helpful. Had 1 washing machine and 1 dryer for the whole building ($4 for washing w soap, $4 for dryer) so I had to get in line, but I managed. Staff offered to clear the machine himself and fold the clothes of the person before me into laundry bags, to get them out of the way, and have me use the machines quickly. That was nice. Walkable about 15 minutes to sites and restaurants . $20 for parking per night was okay too, but better if it was free. . Had booked via Expedia so I probably got a good rate, but I guess not reserving direct means we get less priority when it comes to a "room with a view" request. The heated pool and sauna is worth a visit and closes late at 10pm, but your room key access stops at 9:45, so try and get in before that. Considering everything, it was all fine. Yes I would recommend the place!

Room Tip: Try and request for a room overlooking the city of Wellington
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear TravelBug 232323,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and Mercure Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed your the location and service provided by my team it was a nice touch that they could assist with your laundry.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Wellington.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    276
    266
    90
    38
See reviews for
204
231
85
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I thought the Mercure Wellington was reasonable for the price I paid. The room was clean, had a comfy bed and was well kept. Some facilities were a bit dated but not unreasonably so. The swimming pool is a reasonable size for a hotel (although could do with repainting) and the gym and sauna facilities are good. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Bedsa,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. I am pleased you found the facilities to your liking and managed to find time to enjoy the pool and gym.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon the next time you are in the Capital.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pretty disappointed for the price we have stayed in a lot of hotels in the north island and this one had no bang for your the last place we stayed was the same price and we got a modern room with king size bed and spa pool here we got room for the 70s with no free wifi this place needs a lot of attention but the staff were very nice

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Nathanm,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay. I have taken on board your comments about the Hotel and wifi. The hotel is due to install wifi throughout our rooms over June/July and for our Accor Le Club Loyalty Members wifi is free as is the membership to join this programme.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

when we arrived the man at the front reception was serving another customer. He immediately got another person to check me in. This man was very pleasant extremely helpful nothing was a problem, even the weather wasn't at its best, I think if he could have changed that for us he would have. Great welcome!

Room Tip: one of the rooms the tv wasn't working. Serviceman came to fix it he couldn't. He did offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Peakys1,

Thank you for your comment with regards to your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. It is pleasing to note that on arrival the team provided you with our Mercure Welcome. As for the weather they do not have much control over this! Although they do say if you wait 1 hour the weather will change in Wellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wellington the next time you are down from Palmy.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is probably very nice, but due to a couple of bad experiences, re checking in and money being deducted from my account when it should have come out of another customers.

The staff were very friendly and the room when we finally got to our room was average. The beds were fine the bathroom was OK, but the wardrobe door wouldn't shut and the fridge was sticking out too far for this to happen.

Restaurant was really nice. The bar areas for drinks and snacks was lovely.

Did stay here one more night at the end of out holiday and it was much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Softball,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create a more enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington

Address: 345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Wellington enjoys a prime location at the top of the Terrace with spectacular views over the city and harbour. This charming hotel is an easy walk to the Cuba Quarter, funky boutiques, shops and famous Wellington attractions such as TePapa, Waterfront, Westpac Stadium, Courtenay Place and the theatre district. If you are looking for an ideal holiday destination with your family, the Mercure Wellington is a perfect place for you to stay and explore the Wellington area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.