We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor to your Saves list
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tired!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel is close to the main city shopping street and the cable car. But........ its quite a walk to Te Papa, (especially in the rain) and if you want to get a meal there is little to choose from in this part of the city. The hotel itself is tired, had its day in the late 80s / early 90s by the look and feel of it! The first room we were given looked out at the airconditioning units on the roof, with a loud hum! We asked for a different room and took one that was not a "superior" which we had booked and paid for - but didnt get any refund! It was small, adequate but not somewhere you would want ot spend any more time than necessary. One night, (Boxing Day) we couldnt find a restaurant on along walk back tot eh hotel and ate in the dining room. It was dreadful; expensive, poor service, really ordinary food - and even a broken chair. if you just want somewhere to sleep and can get it cheap, maybe. But recommend staying in the Cuba Street / Te Papa area where you get a whole different look and feel for the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    292
    166
    34
    19
See reviews for
92
260
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We found the hotel to be in a great location with access straight onto Lambton Quay. Close walk to Te Papa museum and the waterfront. Hotel was very good, clean and staff were polite and friendly. Would recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We only stayed one night at this hotel but my we did pack a lot of the sights in. The hotel is a minutes walk from the funicular that takes you up to the University or stay on to the top for magnificent views from the Botanic gardens.. It is also only a few minutes walk from most of the City's attractions like the quayside, the museum (a great way to see some magnificent Maori artifacts ) and of corse the shops.
The rooms are comfortable, quite large & with all the amenities you expect from a quality hotel. The restaurant is comfortable & has a very good & varied menu with well prepared meals. You would only fault this hotel if you were picky or unlucky. If you go enjoy it, we did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Best part is the location and the elevator down to the street and all the shops and eateries . Used the Hotel for both Dinner and Breakfast with no real complaints but the meals were nothing special. Our room was neat clean and had every thing we were looking for except the heat and vent system was hard to control. Staff were all very help full and worked around our Canadian accent very well. Our TV worked well but there was a lack of things to watch which is typical for this part of the country. Over all our stay was enjoyable .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is the place to be if you want good accommodation right in the heart of Wellington, with comfortable beds and a quiet room. Staff on the ball. The only minor drawback was the quality of the TV picture in the room, and we thought that the hotel used 'rabbit ears' for reception.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Average accomodation in a good spot in Wellington. Rooms are quite small and the air conditioning was impossible to control. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We arrived after a 7 hour journey on a beautiful sunny day. Were more than a little disappointed to walk into a sweatbox room, stuffy and headache inducing. Sure, the air conditioning WAS working, but how hard would it be for staff to turn it on half an hour before guests are due to check in.
More tea/coffee/ milk would be a help too, the amounts of each seemed very miserly considering the cost per night.
Also was a bit disgusted to find a long black hair in the bath when I showered in the morning, not mine, not my husbands, eeewww.
The central location is great though, elevators to Lambton Quay mean you can leave the car and 'leg it' everywhere. And there are plenty of cafes and eateries withing a comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Beher-Manager, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. It is through such feedback that the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor may improve our service and product standards. I have investigated the concerns you have raised in your review. As a Silver certified member of both Greenglobe and Qualmark, the Hotel minimizes our environmental footprint by conserving energy consumption when a room is unoccupied. In relation to finding a hair in the shower, we are very concerned to read of this review given our stringent housekeeping practices at the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. Once again, my apology that your experience was not up to your expectation. We would welcome the opportunity to have you visit our Hotel again and experience the true Hotel Grand Chancellor hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#19 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The Hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.