We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor to your Saves list
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I was put up here as my usual 5 star hotel I stay at whenever I come to Wellie for work is not available. For a qualmark and 4 star hotel I expected more. The standard room is so tiny and the Tv is tiny like a PC screen for the standard and king sized bed room. The standard room has a strange layout of a super single bed and a single bed with a couch.. all of these in a tiny room.. i feel suffocated. When I asked for an upgrade I was given a room of same size with 1 king sized bed and charged 15 NZD more per day. Bed is comfortable but TV is the same tiny 14 inch PC screen mounted to wall. Can hardly see the TV screen from the bed.
The rooms are so closed to each other, the walls so thin I hear banging of walls all the time and people talking. I don;t feel comfortable if you know what I means.

Service is generally poor. The front desk and concierge acted like they are doing you a favour when you requested for something. One concierge member even rolled his eyes when he delivered the bedroom slippers I asked for. Housekeeping is service is very basic. The staff again rolled her eyes when I asked her to come back in the afternoon. After 1 hour she came back begging to clean the room because they were busy. It is the weekend and I like to sleep in during the weekend. As a business traveller, sleep is luxury. Instead I get my door knocked on asking if they could service the room again and again. Room service food is poor. Ice cream that came with dessert were twice mushy and already melted when they arrived. Overall I think this is more like a 3 star hotel. I would not stay here if it is not close to the office.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    391
    193
    40
    22
See reviews for
123
321
44
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times. Parking is easy and the central location is outstanding! The hotel is clean and rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

The central location makes this hotel a great place to stay in Wellington. My husband and I have stayed at The James Cook a number of times either for rugby events or just a Friday night get away with some shopping planned on the Saturday. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

I stayed here with my wife on April 16, 2010. Because I have a mobility impairment, a room with an accessible bathroom was requested (through my APT tour leader), albeit on short notice. The room that I received, had a bathroom that was, frankly, shabby and in need of remodeling. There were no counter tops on which to place items. The (sliding) wooden door was water-stained and the bottom edge of the door looked "chewed up". But, my main complaint is that there was only one bed (double or queen, I don't remember which) when all of our traveling companions had TWO beds. Unfortunately, I did not discover the inequity in the rooms until we discussed this with our tour companions at dinner and the next morning.

The next morning, I completed a guest comment card with full contact information, including email address. I asked the clerk at the front desk to be sure to give it to the Duty Manager. It is now six weeks later and I have received NO response of any kind from anyone at the hotel.

Aside from the fact that my complaints might not seem too serious to some people, I find it very disappointing that they were not even worthy of a response after I departed. I don't care how many "stringent guidelines in product and service" the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor has met in the past, their customer service toward me was anything but GRAND!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Beher-Manager, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. It is through such feedback that the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor may improve our service and product standards. I have investigated the concerns you have raised in your review. As you were on a Group Tour, our procedure is to reply to the Agency. In light of your comments, we will amend this procedure to ensure that individuals within Groups are responded to. I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of our Mobility Impaired Room. The design of the room and bathroom, which were renovated 18 months prior, are in such a fashion that it provides for maximum maneuverability of mobility impaired guests. Hence the design of the bathroom does have less shelf space as those guests that are restricted to usage of a wheelchair must be able to access the sink as well as other facilities therein. Again, the lack of a second bed is to ensure maximum maneuverability in the room. Had you raised a concern at the time of your visit, we would have gladly accommodated you by moving you to a different room category. We have made the repair to the bottom of the door where the water stains were and appreciate this being brought to our attention. Once again, my apology that your experience was not up to your expectation. We would welcome the opportunity to have you visit our Hotel again and experience the true Hotel Grand Chancellor hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Nice rooms, Shower was a bit small and kind of a drizzle when it came out. The room was quite big. Good area, easy access to Lambton Quay. The hotel had a very nice breakfast.

Go eat at The Matterhon. AMAZING FOOD!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This central-downtown hotel was a perfect location for our vacation trip. We literally walked everywhere. The lift down to Lambdon Quay was a step-saver in this very hilly city. Rooms perhaps on the small side, though that may be because there were three adults in one room (two double beds). Beds were comfortable, housekeeping was generous with towels. Business center was usually available, tho with the irritating fee now charged at many establishments.
We booked the hotel via Expedia for $100 a night, which was a bargain for our 8-night stay.
We did NOT try the restaurants, mostly because there were so many excellent dining options from the waterfront to Cuba Street.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We used this hotel as out base for looking around Wellington for a couple of days, its a nice city centre hotel with a useful back entrance/exit right onto the main shopping street of wellington. Its a large hotel part of a major chain so misses some of the small nice finishes however still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The Hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.