We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor to your Saves list
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for walking to almost anywhere in the city, the service was good and the room was pleasant and clean but quite noisy mainly from inside the hotel, other guests and the housekeepers. We ordered room service late one evening and unfortunately it didn't come with any condiments (salt, pepper, sauces) but it did come with a few extras in the salad like an egg shell and a hair.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello ianandjade

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review. Please accept my apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had with room service, this is certainly not our normal level of high standards and I have followed up with the team.

I do hope that we will see you back soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    388
    193
    40
    22
See reviews for
122
320
43
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group, our second visit here. The welcome at reception was very good.
Our room was on 22nd floor and had 2 double beds, a bathroom with bath and shower and the usual safe, fridge and hot drink makings. Decor was very plain but in excellent order and very clean.
This was one of the few hotels with enough room to put both suitcases on the stand to unpack.
The room had no view, being in the middle of a high rise city, but was quiet and gave us good nights sleep.
As there are so many places to eat close to the hotel, we did not eat there.
Overall we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nothing wrong with this hotel it is just basic and dated. Valet parking cheap and easy. Fine for a short stay. Clean room, friendly staff and good location easy access to the city centre. If you are wanting modern and new than this is not for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at the James Cooks with my wife and two children. Check in and went up to our room only to find it was occupied by two old ladies. Fortunate they weren’t in the room. Went back down to the desk and a very apologetic guy on reception apologised and offered free breakfasts in the morning. He also contacted us later to inform us why there had been a mix up. Mistakes happen but they responded well and more than made up for it. Well done

Room Tip: There's an older section of the hotel where the rooms are pretty dated but the newer section has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We try to stay here whenever we are in Wellington - usually 3 or 4 times each year.
We like everything about this hotel - the rooms, location, service, restaurant are all great and keep us coming back.

And if you book early you can get some good rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Haydn J

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review. I appreciate your continued support of the James Cook and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a average hotel with a good location The rooms were adequate and clean but a bit tried and in need of a refurbish. Also a little bit noisy as you could hear doors slamming and the plumbing from adjacent rooms. I would not recommend a trip to the restaurant, we opted for the buffet and at $46 a head it was wildly over priced for the standard and range of food, the waiting staff were friendly and polite but certainly in need of some training, when i alerted the waiter to a big crack and small chip in my glass and asked for a replacement he brought an empty glass expecting me to transfer my drink. Over all i was not impressed with the service or the meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Andrew W

Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls you experienced in Whitby’s restaurant, this is certainly not the normal level of service that we pride ourselves on delivering. We have followed up with the staff concerned.

I do hope that we will see you back again.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had just two nights here. It is well located, just a few minutes from the vibrant seafront area, andclose to parliament and the CBD. The Te Papa Museum (recommended) is in reasonable walking distance as is the gondola to the Botanic Gardens (also recommended if you like such things but don't try to walk it unless steep climbs enthral you.)
The room was of good size, comfortable and very clean. Service was excellent, not that we made any great demands on it, but what we had was friendly and efficient. The meals (breakfast and one dinner) were very good. It makes a good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The Hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.