We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor to your Saves list
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Substandard Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at the hotel on our way to our family holiday in Queenstown. Hotel had a nice and clean reception. We walked through dirty hallways with bottle tops everywhere to the terrace rooms on 12th floor. The rooms were so outdated. Cupboards were very old, even Salvation Army wont sell you those. There were hazards in the room-lost my toe nail as there was nail protruding from the carpet. My daughter kicked that nail on several occasions.. Our toilets wouldn't flash. Rang reception twice before it was fixed. In the morning i was woken up by a noise coming from the toilet...it was the next room's toilet---gosh. Duvets on the beds had seen better days. The toilet was like boxing yourself in a coffin...wooden doors, no handles. I had a few problems checking in as my previous booking was not cancelled. Took us a few hours before it was sorted, one of the workers had not done their job properly. Having stayed at Rydges Hotel, i don't think i will ever book a room at Grand Chancellor.

So disappointed with this so called 4.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCookHotel, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Taz452014,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us.
I apologise that in this instance we did not provide you with our normal efficient and friendly service. We have taken on board the comments which you have highlighted for us and we will work on getting them rectified.
As per your conversation with one of our senior management team earlier, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    289
    165
    34
    19
See reviews for
91
258
34
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife, the room was really good and comfortable with the view of mountains. Staff was really helpful. great location and worth to pay when you get such a wonderful accommodation. will surely come back to stay .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice Hotel, which was spotless in the middle of Wellington. Just lacked a little of the personal touch & having to park using a Valet service was strange. Breakfast was ok & staff in the restaurant were very helpful & friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Why live in dirty hostels when you can live like a royalty for the same price at this great hotel? We booked a double room online for 99NZD a night which is the same price you'd pay at a hostel, but this hotel offered a better room and service than hostels ever will. If only the wifi prices weren't so insanely expensive we'd give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst doing a tour of the North island. Excellent location, well appointed & clean bedroom with a massive bed. Service very friendly but the highlight of the stay was the evening buffet - excellent value for money with a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes. The restaurant was very busy so obviously has a good reputation. Worth also going to the Quay for a wide choice of restaurants & bars. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a great location and valet parking. We could walk to most attractions and close to nice places to eat. The service was excellent and the room clean with everything we needed. We had the Zoo special and took our grandson and we were not disappointed. Definitely would like to return. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms. Great location as we could just leave the car and walk to places in town. I think staff need to let customers know there is a lift available to take you into downtown Wellington. We accidentally discovered this ourselves.

We would book again.
Thanks James Cook

Room Tip: No comment about rooms but I think staff need to let customers know there is a lift available to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#19 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The Hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.