We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor to your Saves list
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel have an awesome attitude to customer. All services include reception, parking, room service and restaurant, are the best services I have never experienced. If you you stay in Wellington, u better stop by this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. I’m very pleased to hear that the customer service you experienced was of such a high calibre, this is what we strive for all the time and I’m very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    292
    166
    34
    19
See reviews for
93
260
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
akl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Central location and friendly reception staff. The room was basic, compact but clean, what you would expect in an average 3 star hotel. The only problem was the pillows were like chunks of sponge. This made for a rough nights sleep and a sore neck in the morning. An alarm clock hidden under the bed (and set to alarm loud at 5am!) was a sneaky touch to finish off my few hours of uncomfortable sleep. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do have a range of pillow types for our guests to use and this is stated in our in-room compendiums. We endeavour to provide a peaceful and pleasant stay for our guests, although this was not the case during your stay– please accept my apologies for this. I do hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite due to late availability of our room upon arrival. Suite was excellent with great views of the harbour (between skyscrapers) and very quiet. Staff tried hard to please. Buffet lunch good with lots of choice but same at breakfast was not the same due to large parties all dining at once and obstructing the various stations. Access to hotel by road not easy and made worse by taxis occupying the inadequate forecourt for off-loading luggage, etc. Why are they not on the street like other hotels? But overall a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. I hope we will see you back at the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor in the near future.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location, lift direct to Lambton Quay. We had terrace rooms towards the top floor. Views of terrace houses and motorway was okay. Not ultra modern but adequate, clean and airy rooms. Very comfortable sleep, didn't find the motorway traffic too noisy.Check-in, valet and concierge service faultless. Driveway entrance was jammed with taxis. Close to Tramcar and central shops. Great buffet breakfast with wide variety. We only had light meals at Sojourn restaurant and found them most appertising and satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the James Cook soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed 6 nights. Good location for exploring Wellington city on foot. Room a bit 'tired' but position at the front of the hotel was better then friends who had a room across the hall with outlook on to lower roof of hotel. The bedding was 2 large doubles which took up most of the room and made it cramped. 1 Queen bed would have been a better arrangement creating a more comfortable room. Ensuite spacious with shower over bath. Young staff were very enthusiastic friendly and helpful. The warm welcome we recieved from the lovely female receptionist set the tone for a happy Wellington visit. Ate in the Restaurant once with friends and BBQ lamb ribs was a great disappointment. More like boiled ribs with a small amount of bottled sauce poured over them. Other 3 meals ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello brissietourist

Thank you for your review. I’m glad your stay in Wellington was enjoyable and that our location made it a more pleasant experience. We do endeavour to present our guests will consistently good quality meals, I am sorry that this was not the case for you – please accept my apologies for this. I do hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend, the hotel were very accommodating and put a rollaway for an extra person for the sat night also. Friendly front desk, helpful concierge, central location, no street noise at night, gym was functional, we didn't eat at the the hotel. Room attendant was lovely and helpful, sorry I didn't catch your name. Had air con, alarm clock flat screen tv, reasonable size room even for 3. Was walking distance to train, bus, ferry (maybe not with luggage). All up would recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello Popper B

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our staff work very hard to ensure a high standard of customer service at every level of our operation and I’m really happy you experienced this during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Warm regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is an older hotel in amongst the high rise city buildings with no views. It has lift access to the main shopping street. It's age is showing a little bit but the rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. Hotel pillows are however always a challenge and no difference here. They do offer a pillow choice so take advantage of this if required. Nice reception area with a bar and small restaurant however the main hotel bar and restaurant are on the 17th floor. They have a great buffet breakfast with wide variety and chef to provide the special requests. If you only wish for a small breakfast such as a bowl of cereal this will cost you as its a fixed charge of $28 for a lite breakfast! There are some good coffee shops open close by that will provide a good alternative. All in all a favorite for central city location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. Whitby’s Restaurant is a good buffet option for leisure guests and our Sojourn Café in the lobby also offers a variety of breakfasts with different pricing options. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our product and services to be satisfactory. I do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The Hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.