We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor to your Saves list
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We found several things disappointing about this hotel. Apart from one pleasant person behind the front desk, the rest of the service was chaotic and unhelpful. The valet service is not really worth paying extra for. Our room was in a corner by the stairs and had no view. And we were given a twin room even though we'd booked a double.
Overall it wasn't terrible but we were hoping for a better experience.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed your experience with us was not satisfactory. The service standards you received are not the usual high standards we set for our staff; please accept my apologies for this. I have taken on board your comments and do appreciate your feedback. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    292
    166
    34
    19
See reviews for
93
260
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

After reading some not so favourable reveiws i was very happy with my stay here. I did upgrade to a harbour view room which was very spacious with a great veiw. comforatable bed and i found the staff helpful. Yes a little tired decor but sill clean,tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and that the team looked after you. Thank you very much for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011 via mobile

Our room had that stuffy/outdated hotel smell to it. The service was very friendly. Upon entering the lobby, we thought the rooms would be nice but left more to be desired.

We had prepaid our hotel but upon providing a credit card for checking in, we were billed again. Upon informing the hotel, this was handled at a later date. Only cost us $10 US for exchange rates so not worth hassling over. The management handled very promptly for this oversight.

I hate 30 minutes of free wifi, just a tease. Most hotels in the states offer for free so frustrating to have to purchase elsewhere. Would prefer having this built into the room price. Not enough time to catch up on work e-mail or Facetime the kids.

Hotel was nice for one night passing through but don't think I would want to stay longer than a day or two. Good location for walking to everything.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am disappointed your experience with us was not completely satisfactory; please accept my apologies for this. I have taken into consideration your comments regarding internet connections and appreciate your feedback. I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

A really great and refreshing experience. We spent 9 days there in November during a work/leisure stay in Wellington and can't speak highly enough of the accomodation and particularly the staff. Our room was on the 26th floor and well looked after and clean. The Club Lounge on the 26th floor was just great for that end of the day quiet drink and a few nibbles. Definitely worth the little extra to have 24hr access to freshly ground coffee, tea, cold drinks, fruit, wide screen TV, music, reading, internet and spectacular views. The weather was a shocker for a few days but the central location of the hotel gave you easy access to all the main parts of town and as easy retreat when the weather turned nasty. The dining room/restaurant, Whitby's, was great and the food consistantly good, whether for the buffet or dining out a la carte. Thanks to Michael in the Club Lounge and Lance in the dining room for your fantastic service and absolute professionalism towards your guests at all times.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for club lounge you won't be sorry. The staff were always checking if everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to hear about our staff going above and beyond to provide good service and I am glad that was a highlight of your stay with us – I have shared your feedback with Michael and Lance. Again, thank you for this review and I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We arrived by taxi shortly after midnight, nevertheless, the reception staff was chippery and friendly and very efficient.
Room: Mattress excellent - good night's sleep. Good coffee and tea making facilities. Decor: a bit average, but maybe that's picky. Connecting door to next room not soundproof!
Bathroom: very clean, no visible cracks or chips. Good selection of toiletries. Main peeve: shower head is fixed low and not very adjustable. If you are under 160cm that may be fine, anyone taller may have difficulties. (I wonder why many hotels have these type of fixed shower heads - if the ceilings are low, wouldn't flexible hose-type showers be handier?)
Restaurants: very good breakfast buffet selection in main restaurant. The nice bar downstairs seemed always popular and wine was poured in generous glasses :)
General: Very handy to have lift access to Lambton Quay; free 20min/day WiFi access in the lobby is a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your review. It is great to receive feedback from our guests and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The check in and out a pain if you had a rental car. No room to stop due to all the taxis using all the spaces. The car was left in a dangerous place especially hard if you have a disable person to push or guide with luggage. No help with our luggage so grab a trolley ourselves. The bathroom bad chips to bath and bad crack to sink.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We endeavour to have our Concierge team meet all guests and be available to assist with luggage and car parking, I am disappointed that this did not occur on this occasion, please accept my apologies for the shortfall in our service. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here several times before and although found it acceptable it was nothing special. The 'happy hour' in the bar was to be avoided at all costs with the tables soaked in beer and wine and difficult to get service, certainly somewhere you didn't want to be if you were heading out in decent clothes!
This has all changed now and has in our opinion become somewhere we will chose to stay rather than the last resort. The valet parking was faultless as was check in. The rooms were super clean and fresh with good seating and a comfortable bed. We were in the Lambton rooms which were very quiet and we slept soundly till 8.30am without disturbance.
We did not eat here this visit but will on our next visit, the cafe looked particularly clean and inviting.

Room Tip: The Lambton rooms are super quiet but no real outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The Hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.