We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers to your Saves list
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Billed as a nice hotel the staff were efficient at check-in but the room barely contained the bed. Everything seemed just a little shabby and the bed was a little too soft. I was not impressed the overpriced water bottle either. Safe parking, up a hill from the main shopping and tourist spots, breakfast seemed expensive and was included with the person checking in before me so watch how you book! For the price they were charging I expected more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    416
    207
    57
    28
See reviews for
133
313
81
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel is in a great spot, close to all the places you want to see, but a little difficult to find - luckily our shuttle bus driver knew where it was. Great service, but these rooms are really small - think smaller than Paris - luckily all very clean and well arranged - only complaint is that there just wasn't enough room to put two small bags down.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed here and this time was equally as good. It's in a great location and you can get to it either from Lambton Quay or off The Terrace. There is parking within the same complex and a lift down to the last section of steps (Plimmer Steps), which leads directly down on to Lambton Quay for all that Wellington offers. Across from the steps is Starbucks!
Rooms whilst compact, are new, clean and comfortable and no frills. Facilities are limited and I would say that this place is probably 3.5* rather than the 4* that Qualmark has given it, but as a 1-2 night stop over joint this hotel is difficult to beat.

Particularly enjoyed a decent sleep with good black out curtains and not hearing anything else from neighbours. Often I find you can hear everything through the walls of these newer hotels - but not so this one.

Very expensive mini bar options (pack of jellies $8.50, kitkat $4.50, small pack of Pringles $6.00!) and very limited drinks in room (one choice of tea and only powdered coffee). This could be improved.

We thought that the location and room quality and newness (for the price) made up for a slow service and lack of facilities. We got a great deal of $145 (which included free parking worth $20). There's lots of restaurants and cafes near by if you don't have breakfast included or don't want to cough up $19 (continental) and $23 (full) breakfast.

Service is pleasant enough but average and they seemed short staffed - so I marked that down but overall a great stay. Would recommend and would go back and stay again. As others have said you get what you pay for and we thought it was a bargain!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

clean new rooms, love the bathrooms!, view from room was not great though, other than that we had a pleasant stay. Helpful staff, cheap internet, right in the middle of the city which was quite handy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, HI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We got a good base rate using hotels.com, but the room is very basic, minimal amenities, based on the standard NZ hotels.
On the listing, they mention wireless internet was available. Did not mention that it cost a small fortune, basically double the rate compared to the other hotels we stayed at during or 21 days in NZ. 24 hours of access cost a whopping $30.

The bathroom was not as clean as we would have expected.
In room TV was advertised as having cable TV, Sky TV. But in reality we had about 7 channels, and one of them was Sky movies. Not all of the Sky TV channels.

2 weeks prior, we stayed at the Novotel Wellington which is nearby, and paid a few dollars more. In my opinion it was a much better value. Free internet in the lobby there (internet kiosk with 2 imac computers) and bigger rooms with ipod enabled alarm clocks.

If you do decide to book the Travelodge, please note there is access to the hotel via an elevator on "Plimmer Steps" located on Lambton Quay. We did not know this, and walked much further uphill to the carpark access at Boulcott. This is where you would go with a car, not necessary as a pedestrian.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Travelodge is a pretty good deal - it is not very expensive, the rooms are small but pretty comfortable and it has a great location right in the middle of the city. You can walk from there to the railway station (which where buses also depart from) and bus to the airport passes through the street just in front of the Travelodge. There is a car park at the bottom of the building but I didn't have a car, so I didn't use it.

I did get a room on the 15th floor with some view. Room was clean and well equipped for its size. There was an electric heater attached to the wall near the bathroom which turned out to be necessary as it was getting cold at night without it. As most Kiwi buildings the windows (which did open) were single-glazed.

Had no problems whatsoever when staying there. On Friday night noise coming from the restaurant/bar/pub at the ground level of the building was reaching my room, but it wasn't lough enough to be a problem and it ended around 10pm. I think, however, that it might have been a problem for those staying at lower floors.

Can't comment on breakfasts as I didn't eat them - seemed expensive and with this hotel's great location it was easy to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel is very close to everything and parking was good. It was clean and had most things that you needed. There were no wine glasses but these were provided when we requested them. However, the rooms were tiny - we really didn't have enough room for two suitcases.
We ate in the dining room and service was incredibly slow because there was only one person serving. We had finished our meal before our drink arrived!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.