We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Winton
1 review
“Very Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great place to stay, very comfortable rooms, lovely and clean. We were able to walk most places as it is very central and easy to find. Waterfront only a hop, skip and a jump away! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Hollie D,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central location handy to everything. I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    556
    252
    73
    33
See reviews for
192
423
97
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Close to shops and all of the attractions of Wellington. Ideal for people who don't want the hassel of driving to locations. Warm and cosy during Winter months. Perfect to use as a base for further exploration around the city


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am please you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our handy central location. I hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Staff were fantastic. The rooms were very well apointed and spotlessly clean.
Superb value for money and an allround pleasure to stay at. I would recommend travelodge to anyone. Thanks guys, Graeme, HB

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Graeme H,

Thank you for the 5 star rating! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to see you would recommend us and stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The central location was convenient and close to shopping centre, theatres, etc. The staff were friendly and helpful.and the restaurant was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Joanne F,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were in a double room which had no extra comfortable seating no lounge chairs or couches in the room which was a disappointment as online pictures of rooms indicated a couch. Room was clean and tidy and it is a very central location and very easy to find. would possibly stay again. Bathroom had a funny smell to it. I am thinking just because hotel is old, sort of a damp smell.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Nikki H,

Thank you for your review. Some of our rooms do have an additional sofa in them however it is a different room type to our standard room which you booked. I do apologise that there was an odor in the bathroom, if you did call reception we would have fixed the issue.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. I do wholeheartedly encourage you to stay with us again and try booking one of our executive rooms for a few extra comforts.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great location and great rates. Close to all popular attractions. Nice neat rooms but service sightly lacking in some areas. Breakfast good, but pricey. The same for room service.
Would visit again for sure or recommend to family and friends......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Vanessa A,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I am sorry you felt service was lacking in some areas. If you have any further details on where our service can be improved please feel free to contact me directly.

I am glad you would stay with us again and recommend us to family and friends.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleheim
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. Centrally located, close to shops and to the bus route. Facilities were very adequate, clean and tidy. The rooms were quiet and they were serviced daily. The staff we spoke to were polite and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Cheryl W,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay here again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.