We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers to your Saves list
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Have stayed here twice.
Each time impressed with the service, cleanliness and value.
Large rooms well equipped - even have a nespresso machine!
Fittness room clean and well equipped.
Excellent location.
REception staff very accommodating.

Highly recommend - great great value for location, rooms and service offered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Emma S

Thanks for reviewing the hotel. I am happy to read we ticked the boxes for you, and I will certainly pass on your kind words about team.

We look forward to your next visit and I hope it is as good as your previous stays.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    421
    207
    57
    28
See reviews for
136
317
82
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stopped here for one night ready to travel to the south island by ferry the next morning. We wanted some where close to downtown Wellington, not too expensive, but not some run down backpacker type place..... this suited us just fine for that. The place was clean and modern. The staff were freindly when we arrived. The place lacked some of the 'family run feel' which until here, we had got used to during our travels across New Zealand. I think this is to be expected within a city. This place would be great for people for a leisurely city break or a business stop. It is close to everything you need in the centre within walking distance.

The only thing that was annoying was the fact that you had to pay quite a high price for parking your car in the car park. Be sure to account for this when price comparing.

Would stay her again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Owner at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear James B

Thanks for reviewing the hotel. I am glad we were able to offer you good value in a central location, and that is exactly what we aim to do at all our Travelodge Hotels. You made mention of the parking price; if you are bringing your car into the city center you will find it more expensive, but that is the way of the world and not unique to us, Wellington or any other city.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very affordable hotel and staff were friendly and helpful, we arrived early and they suggested some good spots to hangout till our room was ready (which they had ready early as well)...We also needed ideas on what to do in Wellington on a rainy day and they recommended a load of cool stuff to do! Rooms were clean and big.

The location was very handy and overall was a very easy place to stay if you're in the city and keen to roam around. Try get a view of the harbour!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear S I

Thanks for reviewing the hotel, it sounds like you had a great time in Wellington and we played apart in that. I will be sure to share this feedback with the team.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It felt a bit more like a business hotel than we were expecting, but the room was comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly. It's within walking distance to basically the entire central Wellington area, and if you're venturing further out many busses stop a block away (including the airport express bus, which was nice when carrying heavy bags). The only downside is that they charge a whopping $30 for internet access, which is something I've never seen at even the fanciest hotels I've stayed in. They give you 15 minutes / 20 mb for free when you check in, but only one per room rather than one per guest. And believe me, you'll hit 20 mb before the 15 minutes is up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Chris G

Thanks for reviewing the hotel, I won’t disagree that the internet is not expensive. However, hotels through NZ are charging these kind of rates, often hidden in the room rate and we prefer to give the option. Glad you found the rooms comfortable and the team were friendly.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights before travelling to the South Island. Good city centre location, room was modern and clean, we even had a harbour view we were so high. We enjoyed out stay here the staff were friendly

Room Tip: Higher for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Coniston53
Thanks for reviewing the hotel I am pleased you enjoyed the stay and great view of Wellington harbour. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team, hope you have a good time down south and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children spent two days in Wellington and had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The main reason for this post is to highlight to families of this hotel's two room combo that made this a perfect family hotel stay. The rooms were very nicely appointed and I had the most restful sleep over this entire family NZ vacation.

Unfortunately, we didn't have time to partake in any of the other hotel facilities; however, we did visit the breakfast bar for the Hotel's 'Special' Coffee and Muffin for NZ$5. On request we were offered a coffee and croissant alternative - just met our needs perfectly. Although the price was consistent with other hotel breakfasts (read: reasonably pricey for a budget conscious family), the main breakfast looked/smelt nice too. Besides we had places to go and people to see!

Room Tip: For Families: This hotel has family friendly 'end rooms' that are fantastic. We booked two o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Aleir
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad your sleep with us was the best you had on your holidays. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. PS to other readers are full buffet breakfast is currently $23, which offers great value and is very competitive and receives great feedback.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our room had great views of the harbor. The rooms are well appointed, fresh, clean & very comfortable. Breakfast choices and quality excellent. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, the cable car, and the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear LadySarah9
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.