We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outrageous internet fees, bad service, surely you can do better here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers to your Saves list
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“outrageous internet fees, bad service, surely you can do better here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is out of touch with reality. They want unbelievable internet fees when it is free all over town. We received no new shampoos one day, and it is a weird setup getting there. It is also very noisy, even on the 14th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, internet is free throughout Wellington as provided by and paid for by the city council. To enjoy being able to use the internet in your own guest room, we have a range of payment plans. The rates we charge are similar to what you will pay in other Wellington hotels.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    418
    207
    57
    28
See reviews for
134
315
81
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a training course. Staff pleasant and breakfast reasonable if a bit predictable. Would it really be hard to have a dish of the day?

Room was unexpectedly big but no Air Con which meant that it could be stuffy. Good bathroom with plenty of hot water.

Excellent location. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, our breakfast offers a good selection of hot and cold dishes and gets good reviews. We are not trying to offer a high end dining experience rather tasty and good value breakfast, if that make us predictable then at least our guests know what to expect which I believe is a good thing.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Basics done well, everything else at a price.

Room clean, comfortable, but a little small. Internet scandalously price. Parking expensive. Food standard quality and expensive.

As good as can be expected for central accommodation in Wellington I suppose.

Room Tip: Travelodge charge $20 per night to use one of their parking spots but if you arrive in the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, all prices you mentioned, dinning, parking and internet are in-line with what you would expect to pay at similar hotels located in central Wellington.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown, and is within easy walking distance of both the port and the Parliament buildings. The rooms were fine, although not luxurious; they were clean and well-kept.

There are only 2 elevators to service the approximately 100 rooms in this hotel, which was sometimes a problem, as the elevators broke down on a couple of occasions. However, overall this was a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, with any hotel and a large tour group all trying to be somewhere at the same time the lifts can get a bit busy. Not helped by the fact the lift did break down although it was up and running in less than an hour, sorry for the inconvenience.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed a couple of times at the Travelodge and arrived late after flying in from Sydney. There are no wow elements to the Travelodge and it's very tired. The rooms are adequate and clean but not really somewhere you want to hang around in and car parking is expensive. I've only stayed one night, both times and for a night it's fine but wouldn't stay longer than that if I had a choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, we have updated all our guest rooms with new bedding so hopefully you will find that has lifted our rooms. To be honest we don’t expect people to spend too much time in their room. We put in everything you need to make your stay comfortable, but we are not aiming to attract guests that want to spend their leisure time in the hotel. The car park is not expensive it is on a par with other CBD hotels and car parks and at $25 is reasonable for a capital city parking rates.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDC-HKK_Travels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place is a good price for what can be a relatively very expensive city. We were only here for one night before catching out flight out of NZ. After being on the road, roughing it in an RV with friends, it was so nice to finally have a nice shower and good bed to sleep in.

The hotel also had a nice and simple breakfast included in the rate. They also helped us park our RV, which is not an easy task in a city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, you have captured what we are all about; which is offering our guests great value.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the Travelodge while on a tour. The location of the hotel was a huge plus. Right in the middle of town with all the great restaurants and shopping right out the door. This was a huge plus. Unfortunately, the rooms were at best, average. We had one of the larger rooms and still felt a bit cramped. Not much room to move around. We did have a corner room that afforded us several views of downtown but most views looked into the surrounding office buildings. Our room was quiet and off the noisy street which was a plus. The beds were very average and the bedding seemed worn. The room was clean. Had to go down to reception several times to get a new key as the assigned ones did not work. As in most New Zealand hotels, wifi connections were expensive and most of our group went to McDonalds to use our IPads and lap tops.
Again, the location couldn't have been better. The two elevators were large and fast which was helpful. The morning buffet was at best average. Not a terrible three night stay but certainly not memorable in any sense.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, glad you found the location convenient, our guest rooms are well appointed with all you need to make the stay comfortable. You mentioned the bedding since you wrote your review with have put entirely new bedding throughout the hotel.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.