We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a great place to stay while on a girls weekend in wellington.. The Travelodge is so central to shops, cafes, etc, and the staff were very competant and pleasant. The rooms were clean and tiday and al lthat we needed. The breakfast in the morning was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. One of our great strengths is being right in the thick of everything. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found the rooms right for your needs, as well as being clean and tidy. We pride ourselves on offering guest good value and having a team that does their job with a smile.
We look forward to your next trip.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    556
    252
    73
    33
See reviews for
192
423
97
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The location, in the middle of Plimmer Steps, centre of town, is very handy. The hotel is clean, reasonable-sized rooms (mine was biggish and at a corner, so windows on two sides). Views from higher floors are worth asking for. Internet was expensive, slow and unreliable (drops out) - I wouldn't stay here if I needed to get a lot of work done. I was refunded one day's use when I complained, but that's not useful if you are relying on being in contact. Room service order was not what was on the menu - similar, because 'that's what they're serving in the restaurant'. Yes, but it wasn't what I ordered... and it was an odd combination, steak with both kumara (yams?) and boiled potatoes. Just dumped on the plate with the steak on top. And the steak was tough. I should have bought in - rooms have a microwave.
Odd bathroom supplies - soap, shampoo and conditioner, 'sanitary' bag: but no shower cap? Most women need that, and rely on it far more than the sanibag. Usual weak hairdryer.
Room heating is great - you can control it yourself, properly and it's pretty sensitive.
A comfortable room for the night, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond and provide us with feedback. Firstly I have just arrived at the property as the new manager and will ensure we order in shower caps and have then placed in the room. Secondly, I will speak with Chef in regards to your meal we are currently reviewing our room service options and a new menu will be released in the coming weeks. Finally I will be looking into the internet issue raised. Price is something we have limited control as we are determined by the supplier. However, poor performance is not acceptable and we will follow this up.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It's a pity they don't quote you the Internet price as well as room rate. $30 a night for Internet is the highest I've ever experienced. Once in, there is no alternative as the free city WiFi doesn't reach here. The Museum Hotel has $12 a night Internet. Why this big difference? Otherwise, everything is clean and sterile.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest

I know WIFI is not particularly cheap if you compare it to the Museum Hotel. Please bear in mind that the Museum Hotel is a very different hotel from us. With rates double and triple that of ours so comparing the two does not give a true reflection. Our internet rates are comparable with similar hotels to us in Wellington.

You also made mention about not quoting internet rates. A hotel has many services and we don’t quote every single service that is available. Room rates are always the starting point then if a guest enquires about a specific like internet or parking then we quote. Not all guests are interested in or have a need for all services that we provide.

Kind regards

Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and were really pleased we chose Travelodge initially for it's great location right in the town centre. We were lucky to get a room on the 22nd floor which was incredibly quiet and had a decent harbour view. The room was spotless and the bed and pillows comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower large! The staff were very polite and helpful which goes a long way with us. In fact we were very impressed with the way a small issue was dealt with. We mentioned to housekeeping ( a delightful girl) in the morning that the shower head was loose and we came back in the afternoon to find a letter saying that although it couldn't be fixed over the weekend we could move rooms straight away if we liked. Maybe if our stay had been longer we would have but for only another night it wasn't really a problem. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have a light room service meal one night which arrived promptly. Would definitely choose Travelodge again when staying in Wellington. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor they are probably quieter with the chance of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear gillyflower5,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and our guest service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spend a quick weekend in Welly. This was a great location, cost and facilities. Close to good food and interesting shopping. Made my time in Wellington easier than other hotels. I would recommend this for those wanted a suitable, clean and central spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear bettyboppy,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am pleased to hear you found our location so handy and enjoyed our food.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed this week in the Wellington Travelodge, the hotel is dated and the room we had was surrounded on all sides by other buildings, very average experience at best. No air conditioning in the room and the TV was very small with limited channel choices.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Napier1,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor!
I’m very pleased to read you found our location in the centre of Wellington so convenient.
I’m disappointed that you found us to be ‘dated’. Travelodge Wellington is only just over 3 years old, having been opened in June 2009.
Being a CBD hotel, we would not be able to be located in our great location without being surrounded by buildings. We have view rooms and larger deluxe rooms available when you make you make your reservation with us and also to upgrade to when you are at the hotel.
We have channels 1,2,3, Prime, Sky Sports One, Sky News and the discovery channel. We also do have movie packages on our pay per view movie channels that will allow guests to watch unlimited movies over 24 hours for $29.95.
Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
twlg@travelodge.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room was comfortable and well appointed, if small.
What got me was the noise the that started early in the morning when the rubbish bins started being collected. The rattle of bottles was not what I wanted to hear.

The hotel is centrally located and provides easy access to Lambton Quay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Bruce M,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
Please accept my apologies for the noise that disturbed you. All of the hotels own waste collection is done during business hours as to not disturb our guests. I will investigate where the noise you heard was coming from to stop it happening again.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
twlg@travelodge.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.