We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend recently when in Wellington watching the All Blacks play.

I am not going to comment on price as given it was a rugby weekend it was dearer than what I imagine would normally be paid so that is not really relevant.

Other times when we have stayed in Wellington we have stayed at the Westpac Stadium end of town. So staying here was a first for us.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the apartment was on the small side it had a wee kitchenette which was very useful for us. I do not think they all have kitchenettes so it is worth asking. Maybe that takes away on living space though and it did mean the living area tv was in sort of an odd spot but not of any great importance. There was an outdoor balcony but that is tiny and 15 stories up the balcony was not good for my husband's vertigo - but it did mean you could open a door to the fresh air.

Having a separate bedroom is always nice as well.

The view over the harbour was very good and the unit got a bit of sun as well which was very nice..

It was a little dated as is the decor of the building itself but that did not bother us. It was clean and tidy and the shower was very good I though.

It was also handy to Cuba street and we have a number of enjoyable walks around the area - and it is still handy to Lambton Quay for shopping etc. and the waterfront, Te Papa etc

There is no restaurant or bar area or gym or any of those sort of hotel services attached to the hotel (I think because it may have been a apartment block originally perhaps that has been converted to an apartment hotel and not a purpose built hotel?) but the restaurant they use is just around the corner I gather and is connected to a sister hotel. We did not get to the restaurant so cannot comment on that. I think I also saw that room service provided via this other restaurant.

At check in there were no porters trying to take your bags - now most bags have wheels on the bottom I wonder how they keep occupied! so from my perspective I quite liked that as it is one thing I find a bit frustrating at other hotels when I am ok with wheeling my own bags - although I am sure a lot of people like that and it does give people jobs.

The people at reception were very helpful and when I mentioned my newspaper had not arrived one morning shortly after that they delivered one to us which was appreciated.

All in all it was a good base to see the city from and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear jochnz

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay.

We hope to be of service again in the near future.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    120
    88
    45
    17
See reviews for
53
101
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of our North Island tour and found the place to be amazing. The room was magnificent although a generator type noise on the roof I found irritating especially at night. That said, I could find no other fault with the room or the staff who were most helpful. Whilst there is no restaurant available, staff were more than willing to point us to the best Wellington had to offer.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view of Wellington Harbour which was well worth a few dollars extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear John T

Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback, we very much appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Solo trip to Wellington. Good deal on wotif. Nice apartment w separate bedroom. Minimal noise and ideal location. Television viewing not ideally arranged but didn't matter as I was away most of the time. Two night stay worked out well

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Susan M

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay.

We hope to be of service again in the near future.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel, very clean, service good and one bedroom apartment had everything needed all in a great location central to everything. Stayed for 3 nights - will stay here every time I travel to Wellington now.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Wendy19612013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Grand Mercure Wellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We found the Grande Mercure to be very tidy and clean. The service was fantastic. There was only one problem, the fan in the bathroom was really loud and carried on for 15 minutes after the light had been switched off. A small issue really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Keely T

Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback, we very much appreciate the comments you made and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed twice, both times in September (winter). Each time in a one-bed apartment overlooking the harbour. The kitchen is small, and adequate. Similarly the bathroom. And in common with most of New Zealand, the heating is poor and windows drafty.
Location in the centre of town is great with buses and taxis at the corner.
Recommend shopping at New World on the harbour front (15 mins walk).

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Robin042042

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bed apartment.

Staff where extremely friendly and helpful across the board, the best you could find and they are very lucky to have them.

However the apartment was terrible. We do not complain or write reviews ever but here goes.

Our apartment on level 7 had a basin which looked like it was a meth lab at some point. It badly needed replacing, it was disgusting. The bed bowed in the middle like it has seen too many passionate nights and needed replacing. There was once a television in the bedroom of the apartment but it was obviously never replaced when it was broken/stopped working/was stolen etc.

All in all, a run down place that needs looking after and some money spent and not deserving of a major hotel chain name. Or they could do nothing and turn it into a backpackers because that is how it will end up in 10 years the way its going.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear InverellBrisbane

Many thanks for your feedback of you recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington. I am disappointed that some aspects of your stay have not met our usual standard and I apologize for the inconvenience caused. I have passed on your comments to my team and be rest assured issues pointed out have been addressed. It is our hope that we have an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Central City Apartment Hotel features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.