We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"apartment" stay wellington” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"apartment" stay wellington”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

More a standard hotel room with a microwave (no sink, but basin in bathroom) than an apartment, although it had a small lounge and separate bedroom. Door would not lock - desk staff very helpful but unable to change our room for us because hotel was full, so we had to backlooad eveything to the car and take it with us when we went out for the evening. Management were rather less concerned than the desk staff at our plight, and more interested in getting us out of the room next day so they could fix the door lock. Good central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear noname 4966,

Many thanks for taking time out and writing a review for your stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington. Firstly i want to apologise regarding the issue for the lock and also that being full house we were not able to move you to other room.

Regarding your concern with management getting you out of the room, not sure why you think that as we didnt want to disturb you early morning with all the maintenance work on the door so we waited for you to check out and that is what was been communicated to you in the morning on check out.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    120
    88
    45
    17
See reviews for
53
101
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Paying extra for a room with a view - the 16th floor vista was only spoilt by the windows being in desparate need of cleaning. A pretty basic hotel - small rooms, but very clean and a comfortable bed, and a convenient central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Kiwi2NZ,

Many thanks for taking time out and writing a review for your stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your feedback will be passed on to all our staff as it encourages all of us to do much better.

We look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had a good one bedroom apartment. It was well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was quite modern and very clean. The hotel has limited on site facilities and there is no on-site restaraunt however it does provide access to a partner hotel which is located just around the corner.

The location on Victoria Street is close to Cuba Street and so there are a wide range of restaraunts and bars located nearby. It is also an easy walking distance to the harbour and to the main shopping districts in town.

The hotel does not have an in house gym however it provides access to a full gym that is located about three-four blocks away. While it is not as convenient as having one in-house the partner gym apperas to offer a full range of services. Given there is no additional costs for this (at the time) this is definitely a plus.

Additionally of note is that the In house internet service is actually affordable at $10 a night which compares well with other Mercure hotels that I stayed in during my trip.

All up I would recommend this hotel for short term stays in Wellington City

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Jason_of_Oz,

Many thanks for taking time out and posting your feedback for your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington. We appreciate all feedback very much and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Mercure Wellington.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel was well presented with helpful staff. Hotel is located in the city being very handy to all Wellington City has to offer. If you are travelling get a taxi to the hotel as there is no onsite parking so it is better to collect your rental when you are ready to leave the city. We had a great time due in part to this hotels amenities.

Stuart & Tricia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear screen121,

We all are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington and your kind comments have already been passed on to the team as it will encourage them to do much better.
All of us at the Central City Apartment Hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very helpful staff at Reception on arrival. Delighted to be upgraded to recently refurbished one bedroom apartment from Studio room. This had all we needed for our two night stay. Pleased to find that hotel was very close to many restaurants.
Would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Mercure W, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Maclac1944

Thank you for the great comment regarding your stay with us recently, I have passed your compliments onto the staff and they are pleased to hear that their hard work is appreciated.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Central City Apartment Hotel features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.