We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location and pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights in my visit to Wellington and i found this hotel situated in the ideal location,heart of the city.It was great value for money to stay here.I stayed here in one bedroom apartment and the room was tidy and very clean.The bed in the room was very superb comfy.The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.I would love to stay in your hotel in my next visit to Wellington.

Room Tip: Excellent location and clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Abha_Khanna,
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Mercure Wellington.

Kind Regards
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    120
    88
    45
    17
See reviews for
53
101
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly reception upon arrival. Room very accommodating, fantastic view, would stay here again for the view alone from the 14th floor :) Kind suggestion, the guest information folder be updated. Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Rangimarie01
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with Grand Mercure Wellington, I was pleased to read you had a great stay. I will definitely share your comments with the team about service as I know this will encourage them to continue improving our service delivery.We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regard
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was on the Victoria St side. I was happy with the room, bed, TV placement etc. and the kitchen didn't bother me as I had all I needed.

The Lounger thing was not the most comfortable, a couch or armchair would have been better. I also had difficulty getting to sleep for the first two nights as the street noise (friday and saturday nights) was a bit of a bother, but most annoying was the sound of the pedestrian crossing buzzer, all night.

Room Tip: Not Victoria St side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I sincerely regret the disturbance that you experienced with the street noise. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartment again in the near future.
Kind regards
Ankit Nagpal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel has recently been refurbished and branded under the Accor label. It was in need of an updating and there were certainly some improvements on this visit. I had a room with a small microwave and fridge located within a cupboard in the sitting area. some rooms have a separate kitchen. I had a separate bedroom, but there was no TV in the bedroom, so I could not enjoy the luxury of watching TV from bed! The bathrooms have been updated - no more wet woodwork. Well located.

Room Tip: The views are fantastic from the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Dippy_Sal
Thank you for taking the time out to submit a review for your stay at the Grand Mercure Wellington.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit overall, however may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with some of the aspects of your experience.

I appreciate your constructive feedback which will certainly be taken on board and hope to welcome you back the next time you are Wellington.
Kind regards
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stay in this hotel often for business and at least it is consistent. It is average at best but then it is cheap. The location is good but often noisy in the weekends but at least the bed is away from the street. It would be nice to have a decent lounge chair rather than the lounger thing - not the most comfortable.

I put up with it but don't look forward to my next visit - ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCAH, Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Wayne, Thank you for your review and the points raised which will be attended too. For future reference when you visit the Grand Mercure we will try our best that you get a room with Lounge chairs than a couch as most of our rooms have couches and only few with lounge chairs.

Regards
Subodh Ekka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment over Queens Birthday in June. We were not very impressed with the bathroom arrangement, while having a shower I found the water did not actually go DOWN the plughole, it started to venture towards the door so had to stop having a shower so I could mop up the water with a towel before it met with the carpet. The water was pooling and was at ankle height by this stage, so obviously the drains needed a really good unblocking. The fan in the bathroom was also very annoying, it wouldn't shut off even when turned off and kept us awake for part of the night. We also required an alarm clock for obvious reasons and were told that there should have been one in the room. There wasn't so we requested that one be bought up to the room. We were told that there was no alarm clock to spare (which I find very hard to believe in a large complex such as this). We received an alarm clock the next day at about 2pm. Wasn't very good to us by then.
The accommodation was basic and while the apartments were handy to town I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Address: 130 Victoria Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6142, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in the heart of it all, 5 minutes to everywhere you want to be. Our very warm welcome and personal service will make you feel at home, while outside the front door the very best of Wellington awaits, right in the heart of all the shopping, entertainment and business districts. Central City Apartment Hotel features superb, modern, spacious apartment style hotel studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with the best city & harbour views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central City Apartment Wellington
Hotel Central City Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.