We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Wellington to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Wellington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Hawkestone St | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights flew in from Auckland for the Warriors game .
Excellent hotel for games at Westpac stadium as it is only a short walk away .
our room was a superior king . Very very comfortable bed no frills but clean light and airy with everything included tea coffee making etc .
The staff were very good helpful and smiling at all times .
We especially enjoyed the food in the bar and restaurant the $10 lunch deal was excellent value with 4 choices all very tasty and well presented .
Would recommend this hotel also for its central location to all the shops and nightlife in the city
We would stay here again

Room Tip: corner rooms on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Pamela W,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel location convenient. We have recently upgraded the superior rooms with new beds and toppers and I am glad you enjoyed them.

Our new chef who started in January has made some changes including the lunch menu that you tried and we are glad you found it to be good value.

Thank you again for your feedback.


Kind Regards
Jeff Hermes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    91
    75
    24
    17
See reviews for
21
112
35
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed a few times now at this hotel both travelling solo and with others and on every occasion have found the service excellent, fast and friendly. I had initially chosen the hotel for it's handy location to the train, and Westpac stadium but on each subsequent visit, the service has remained excellent. The rooms are clean and tidy, the beds are very comfortable, the shower hot and pressure just right, everything I need. Always happy to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear elcanes1,

Thank you for your recent post on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay as well as your previous ones. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jeff Hermes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great value! Got a nice room, love that you can open the windows. Not only aircondition!! Have had an carpark too! Not a problem. Breakfast wonderful! Nice fresh baking, Müsli, and heaps of cooked things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and some of the new additions to our breakfast buffet.



Regards
Jeff Hermes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

got a deal that included free parking, however both times when we came back to motel there were no parks left, totally inadequate parking facilities and would not recommend this place to anyone with a vehicle. wifi very expensive, but room was ok although tv reception was very poor on sky channels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Rob W,

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that you could not find a park and if this is the case again can you please speak to our reception staff as normally they can move cars around to make room. With your other two comments I will address below

Sky Television signal poor- The hotel can only display the quality of the signal that Sky sends us. Normally it is very good but sometimes the signal sent can be distorted.

Wifi very expensive- The hotel offers free wifi in the bar and restaurant as well as wifi in the rooms for $10 for 24 hours. This is on the cheaper side in Wellington.

If you would like to discuss further or seek clarification can you please contact myself directly.

Kind Regards
Jeff Hermes




Kind Regards
Jeff Hermes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our trip (4 of us) to Wellington was great. This Hotel is very very comfortable. Very clean, environmental friendly, well serviced and welcoming. It is a short walk to Westpac Stadium and Lambton Quay. Excellent value for money!
Simple, but everything you need. The staff were excellent, especially the young bar lady who had just cashed up when we arrived from the footy. She had no qualms about opening it up again for a celebratory drink and it was soon very well patronised. That extra mile for patrons was much appreciated.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The side overlooking the water and stadium on the 5th floor was great. Quiet but very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dearkiwibluebird,

Thank you for you post and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.. As mentioned hotel is quite convenient to many areas including Westpac Stadium which makes it a great base for events at the stadium.

While we do consistently work on improvements in our customer service, it is nice to hear that the staff went the extra mile.

We appreciate the feedback.

Kind Regards
Jeff Hermes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is quite impressive from the outside and well situated for visiting the parliament building and not too far to walk into the centre of town. We were able to park for a nominal fee per day which was useful in a city centre. The room was clean, adequate but small.Reception staff were friendly and helpful though very busy, there seemed to be a shortage of staff, we stayed two nights and the same girls were there throughout our stay.Breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. I think this hotel is probably more suited to the business traveller.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My first stay at this hotel on Trip Advisor recommendation. Superb value across all areas - location (walking distance to everything), comfort (immaculate rooms), bar and dining (great service and food quality very high), reception staff (friendly and very helpful).
No WiFi but will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Wellington

Address: 24 Hawkestone St | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded Kingsgate Hotel Wellington is located on the doorstep to the CBD and on the edge of the Government and Corporate precincts of Thorndon. The hotel is the closest hotel to Westpac Stadium providing the best location for all your sporting, concerts and major events. The hotel offers free unlimited internet in both the restaurant and bar. Kingsgate Hotel Wellington prides itself in providing excellent facilities and all rooms are light, comfortable and fresh. With the back drop of Wellington's famous beautiful hills choose between panoramic views of the Harbour, City Skyline or overlook New Zealand's oldest and historic suburb Thorndon. Kingsgate Hotel Wellington is perfect for both the business, conference and leisure traveler. When staying at Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, the CBD, Lambton Key, bus, train and ferry terminals, Parliament Buildings, Government offices and Botanical Gardens are all on your doorstep. Nothing is better than being accommodated by a hotel which has everything at its feet. Kingsgate Hotel Wellington's guests can also enjoy complimentary access to city fitness and competitive pricing for off street car parking. Try our tantalising menu in Glasshouse Restaurant or relax and unwind in Glasshouse Bar. With contemporary cuisine and a beautiful setting overlooking established gardens Glasshouse Restaurant & Bar is perfect for all your dining occasions. Open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week why go anywhere else? Additionally our conference rooms have natural light, air-conditioning, sound proof interconnecting doors and can seat 2 - 150 people. The Kingsgate Hotel Wellington is a 3 Star Plus Qualmark Rated Hotel and has an Enviro-Silver rating. Local attractions or places of interest Westpac stadium- 800m (closest hotel) Lambton Key- 600m CBD- 600m Government and Corporate district - 0m Botanical gardens - 800m Parliament (Beehive) - 400m Old St Paul's Church - 400m Sacred Heart Cathedral - 250m Thorndon Tennis Club - 600m City Fitness - 500m Thorndon Summer pool - 400m Interislander Ferry - 1.5km Wellington Railway and Bus terminal - 600m Cable Car - 4km Karori Wildlife Sanctuary - 6.7km Carter Observatory - 3km Oriental Bay - 5km Motorway Entry/Exit - 100m (most accessible hotel from the motorway) Speights Ale House - 700m Back Bencher pub - 350m New World Supermarket shopping centre - 100m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.