We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Bay Plaza is in a great location when visiting Wellington. A short walk to Courtney Place, Te Papa, the marina, restaurants, shops, cinemas ..........they are all a short walk away (2-5 mins).

It is clean and comfortable, if a little noisy at night. Facilities are basic but adequate. A good place to stay a night or two without breaking the bank, but it is its location that gives the Bay Plaza a rating of 4 rather than 2 or 3.

Room Tip: Rooms the front would afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Good morning David,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views, within walking distance of all the attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you again as guests at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    59
    81
    26
    22
See reviews for
25
88
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

As long as you are aware that this is a three star hotel you stay will be perfect. Located on Oriental parade and within an easy walk to Te Papa, Courtney place and great restaurants this hotel was perfect for our stay. Myself and two boys on an adventure for school holidays. We didn't want to pay a fortune to only sleep in our hotel rooms. Service was good, was clean and tidy. Perfectly adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Good morning Jillian
Thanks for your feedback, yes we are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location, with everything within walking distance, and the Bay Plaza Hotel is well situated for a short break in Wellington.
We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place is very handy to Courtney Place, an area I REALLY like to visit when in Wellington, and central Wellington itself.

The Bay Plaza is showing its age the landings have a musty smell. The room I stayed in was VERY basic, tea/coffee etc was tucked away in the wardrobe. Room was small and the bathroom although functional was tiny. The floor tiles in the shower looked very dirty, like they needed a good scrub. Could have been the colour of them, but first glace was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good afternoon Alan

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views at affordable prices.
We look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed one night. Check in was quick, staff are friendly and busy. The room was quite adequate Great view. It was warm and well ventilated Bed was comfy. I enjoyed a full breakfast in the morning. Great location within easy walking distance of most central city attractions.parking was easy and accessible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Good afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your great review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for another memorable stay. Regards Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Bay Plaza Hotel in Wellington may not be the international visitor's choice of hotel, but for the occasional weekend visit to Wellington it provides a comfortable room close to theatres, restaurants and Te Papa Museum. Leave the car in the Hotel's car park and enjoy a stroll up town, or in Oriental Parade.The decor may be dated but the rooms are comfortable and clean, views from the windows reveal fabulous Wellington, the restaurant is well-priced, good breakfast! Staff are friendly and interested. For the "domestic" visitor the Bay Plaza Hotel is great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a central city location, with great views and a great team.
Our restaurant has a great reputation, and it is pleasing to see you enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location and potential. Reality is that services are extra (all of them) and the place is getting quite smudgy all over. My room was tidy but the grime was creeping at the edges.
Front desk was cordial if snide. Just one visit, but I might look elsewhere next time...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Bay Plaza Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.it is certainly not the normally level of service that we provide. If you can let me know when you are next coming to Wellington, I will personally ensure that you have a great stay.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were greeted, on arrival by very friendly, helpful and professional staff and the Bay Plaza.
We stayed in a basic room on the 3rd. floor. The accommodation was not expensive and was ok for the price paid. Rooms were very dated although clean and tidy. The only problem we experienced was the extreme road noise during the night. The windows were not double glazed and was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and linen very clean. OK Stay

Room Tip: I guess if you were on a hight floor you may not have the loud road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Good afternoon Neil

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay and we very much appreciate the comments you made about the reception staff. Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff members, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel.
We are fortunate to have a great central city location, with excellent views and value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.
Regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.