We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 Day Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights November 26 to 28. The room was dirty, toilet roll holder kept falling out, TV was terrible,no A/C and windows that would only open 4 to 5 inches due to being on 10th floor. The sun came up and made the room very hot we could not stay in until dusk.Staff were not to helpfull. No breakfast bowls or spoons provided and had to go to restarant or foyer to obtain. Bed clothes were stained so we removed before sleeping. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy (well). Will never return to this place. The only up side was the location.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good afternoon
Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered with regards to your room allocation. The Bay Plaza is a centrally located central city standard hotel, with great view; it was disappointing to read your comments regarding your stay. Neither kitchen facilities nor air conditioning are available at the hotel and we do not advertise this. We do have the security fasteners on all the windows for safety reason, but we do offer portable fans if required.
I trust that the experience did not mar your remaining visit to our scenic country and you have returned home with some unforgettable memories.
Happy New Year!!
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    49
    71
    22
    21
See reviews for
20
78
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Looking at the other reviews I was a little skeptical, but if you are touring in Wellingon, you want to watch movies in the nearby embassy, visit te papa,stroll along oriental parade, grab good food drinks nearby etc, which is basically what most would want, then this place is the ideal choice. Rooms were just perfect and have basic amenities. The location is a huge plus. Rooms are adequate, staff friendly, so it's a pretty good place if you are going to spend your time browsing this city..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments. Yes we are fortunate to have a fantastic central city location, with everything within walking distance. We do have a great team at the Bay Plaza and it is good to read all your needs were met. Happy New Year!!
Thanks Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a package tour. Had a double and a triple as we are 5 adults. Triple has 1 double and 2 singles so a bit cramped. Double has a double and a single bed which works as a lounge. Facilities were as others have mentioned. I feel these are consistent with the price which would have been $110 on expedia. I would just add that when it is windy it is very noisy. There are no room fans or aircon so you have to open the windows and listen to the wind and the supermarket delivery trucks. Internet fees are a bit steep at $15 for 24 hrs. Great location though.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Yes the Bay Plaza Hotel has a superb central city location with excellent view.
At the Bay Plaza Hotel we do offer daily internet packages (room and unlimited internet usage) available to be booked direct through the hotel’s website www.bayplaza.co.nz or over the telephone, so it is disappointing to read your comment regarding internet charges. As you will be aware some of our customers do not use this service, so this is why we have a range of different daily room rates.

I trust that the experience did not mar your visit and that you will once again choose Bay Plaza Hotel on your next visit to Wellington.

Festive Greetings.

Regards

Eileen Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

All my usual haunts in Wellington were full so the adjent suggested here. This would have been a top line place when it was new. While it was clean and airy it was a bit dated. The bath room was "civil service '80's". The room was large, the bed was fine. The location is perfect for a stroll along the waterfront or acess to restaurants etc. The room was dark and quiet at night.

On the plus side, the staff were the friendlies I have come across in Wellington (where the standard is high) Despite the proximity to restaurants I dined "in". The meal was first class and generous

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good afternoon

Great to see you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, yes we are fortunate to have a great central location, close to all the attractions. We strive to give 5 star service to all of our customers so it pleasing to read your comments about the great Bay Plaza team. Our chef is a great asset to the hotel and he loves creating excellent dishes, we start our new Summer Menu this week, so we are all looking forward to tasting the new dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived in Wellington for overnight stay, relatively close to Airport and address Oriental Parade. Booked en route from Napier from Guide Book asked for Harbour View. Didn't realise it wasn't on harbour front till arrival. Duty Manager, David, very welcoming. 11th floor room. Outdoor Car parking behind Hotel. We got last spot available. Fireworks in Harbour that evening.....however, our room facing Coles supermarket, but we had a window which opened 6" and if we sat on windowsill we could just see the fireworks barges and some fireworks and activities around the harbour front.
Restaurant in house was good, met David again there.....Staff friendly and helpful.
Room ordinary, but comfortable as others have said, needs updating somewhat.
Rates for our room week day, on the upper half of the scale in Guide book, had single bed as well as queen bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good afternoon
Thank you feedback with regard to your recent stay at the Bay Plaza Hotel, we are fortunate to have a great central city location, handy to everything. We have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel and are always ready to assist with our guests needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington city.

Regards

Eileen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

my wife and i stayed here during a recent tour of nz with apt and to me this was the hotel from hell . we had a horrible dated room with a very noisy bathroom. To us the only part of our one night stay that was ok was the ok staff .

Room Tip: find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Good evening,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered with regards to your room allocation. The Bay Plaza is a centrally located central city hotel, with great view; it was disappointing to read your comments regarding your stay.

Customer service is a major focus of the hotel, and it is pleasing to read your comments about the staff, we have a great team at the Bay Plaza Hotel.

I trust that the experience did not mar your remaining visit to our scenic country and you have returned home with some unforgettable memories.
Regards

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First impressions: Friendly staff when I checked in.
When I booked requested a room with a view of the harbour - too my delight I was on the 11th floor. GREAT VIEW.
Over the road from New World - just a word of warning - no microwave in room. Te Papa was a five minute walk. The Beehive is about fifteen -twenty minutes walk but lovely- around the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We are a mid-range - value for money standard hotel accommodation option in the central city, with fantastic views, so our facilities in our room are tea and coffee only. We do have our hotel restaurant with excellent cuisine which is open for breakfast and dinner. Great to see your enjoyed the view from the 11th floor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel when you next visit Wellington.
Regards Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Plaza Hotel

Address: 40 Oriental Parade | PO Box 9470, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Wellington's exclusive Oriental Parade, the Bay Plaza Hotel is affordable quality accommodation offering harbour and city views in perfect proximity to the Capital's vibrant city centre and superb leisure activities to experience and explore. Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place 2/5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Plaza Wellington
Wellington Bay Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.