We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi $4 credit card charge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Wellington
Cairns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No free wifi $4 credit card charge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok, but $25 for 24hours if wifi was a joke. I know many hotels now Charge this ridiculous charge, and that's why i normally avoid them. They also charge $4 for paying by credit card. For these 2 facts I won't return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback, I am sorry to read of your disappointment in some of charging policies. We try to keep our room rates affordable at the Copthorne and offer a range of choices in our other services. We will surely review these as a result of your feedback. We do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future when you return to Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    306
    89
    25
    11
See reviews for
157
325
36
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Copthorne Hotel on Oriental Bay. Everything about our stay was perfect. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the rectangular shower seemed bigger than a square one. The staff were all friendly, every one of them.
The location is great, a short walk to the airport bus stop on Courtenay Place and about ten minutes from Te Papa. The view of the harbour from our tenth floor room was stunning especially at night. We had complimentary breakfasts as part of a winter special. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor. Very quiet and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Clairebs it was pleasing to read your review today and your positive comments about our location and views. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were very impressed with the quality of accommodation, service and value. A lovely hotel in a great location. Thank you for everything. This a great location and and nice easy walk to town. Love the sliding door on to a balcony with a view over the harbour. Double glazing meant very quiet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Cheryll G Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you loved the harbour view and opening balcony door. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Hotel rooms have great views across the harbour and have balcony doors that open to enjoy the view even more. They are also a good size. It's an easy walk to Te Papa and the city, or a stroll around Oriental Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sejonetwo It was nice to read your review today. We are certainly a quiet hotel. All the rooms boast hush glass but the best bit is the balcony doors opening to bring in the harbour and fresh air, which we have lots of in Wellington! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We rang this hotel just by chance and they gave us a great deal for 2 nights in a suite, we had an amazing view over the bay, the room and facilities were just fantastic, the staff were great and even though our checkin time was delayed slightly we got a complimentary drink. try the suites, they are amazing. swimming pool was great. only downside if any was we had to use either 2 lifts or lift and stairs.

Room Tip: try the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Padraig O, many thanks for your review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and yes, the view is amazing. Enjoy your travels and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be up-graded to a 'superior plus room' on the 7th floor. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and well furnished with wonderful views over the yacht club and beyond to the city. Excellent location to explore the city sites and easily accessible to some of the fine restaurants and bars nearby. Staff without exception were friendly and eager to assist in all matters. Special mention to the breakfast team - particually the breakfast manager and the egg-station chef who both went about their tasks with friendly efficiency and skill, sometimes under considerable pressure. This is an excellent hotel of high quality yet reasonably priced (we paid NZ139 incl buffet breakfast) and I would recommend to all.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I was particularly pleased to note your comments on the high service standards received from our breakfast team and I am glad you took advantage of our winter special rate. I hope to see you return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I stayed 2 nights here as part of a "Winter Warmer" promotion which included breakfast.
We stayed in a family suite on the 2nd floor. We were initially worried about street noise being so low down and the close proximity to a busy road. We needn't have worried - fully glazed windows meant we couldn't hear a thing!! The view further up must be spectacular.

The layout and size of the family suite is perfect, the bathroom is a decent size (love love LOVED the shower pressure!) and all the beds warm, comfy and clean. Decent black out curtains also provided us with a much needed sleep-in!

A highlight for us all was the breakfast, have eaten many breakfasts in hotels around the world - and this was one of the best. The service was excellent, thank you to the young man who clearly sensed my need for excessive caffeine in the morning and kept my cup full of decent hot coffee.
The buffet was so varied and fresh. Including homemade baked beans which were VERY good, bircher muesli, yoghurt, decent bacon and lots of other things - so much attention to detail.

It's a pain having to pay for internet in the room, but the hotel offers 20minutes free per day in the lobby or the bar which really wasn't much of a hassle.

For budget conscious folk, be sure to check out the New World supermarket across the street, has an enormous bakery/cake section, also premade sushi & other items suitable for an easy cheap dinner - the kids had a blast there....as did hubby with all the cakes on offer!

As a family, I don't think I don't think I'd bother booking anywhere else but here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear 2shopaholics, Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed a wonderful experience with us and truly appreciate your generous compliments on the hotel facilities and it’s stunning location. We look forward to further delighting you with more of the same in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.